1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

how do i check what mobo i have? (i want to upgrade my processor)

Discussion in 'PC hardware help' started by gmesncomp, Feb 4, 2007.

  1. gmesncomp

    gmesncomp Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    how do i check what mobo i have?


    and whats the best processor that is compatible with my mobo? (obviously you guys cant answer this question yet but once i post what mobo i have please tell me)

    thanks
     
  2. skidme

    skidme Guest

    You should be able to find that information on the website of the maufacturer of your computer...
     
  3. gmesncomp

    gmesncomp Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    ...?

    well i have a dell

    where do i look on the dell website?

    i dont have any account on there....


    cant i just look on the properties on my computer or something.......?
     
  4. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,008
    Likes Received:
    77
    Trophy Points:
    128
    what is the make & model# of that dell as in dimension 8300?
     
  5. gmesncomp

    gmesncomp Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    it's a dimension 4400
     
  6. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,008
    Likes Received:
    77
    Trophy Points:
    128
  7. gmesncomp

    gmesncomp Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    ooh thanks a bunch!


    according to the microprocessor type, does that mean this mobo only supports up to Pentium 4 2.4ghz processor?

    thanks
     
  8. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,008
    Likes Received:
    77
    Trophy Points:
    128
    yes but possibly higher. also you are probably limited to northwood dye cpu not prescotte dye cpu.
     
  9. gmesncomp

    gmesncomp Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    i believe the Intel Pentium 4 2.8 Northwood 2.8GHz 512KB L2 Cache Socket 478 Processor is the best of the northwoods but is it compatible with my mobo? its 2.8 ghz and the dell website says it can only take 2.4ghz...

     
  10. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,008
    Likes Received:
    77
    Trophy Points:
    128
    when your board came out, the 2.8ghz was not yet produced so uncertain will work or not. can try & if not work than send it back but check return policy. you are not buying cpu from dell are you?
     
  11. gmesncomp

    gmesncomp Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    no i'm not buying the processor from dell

    i'm probably going to buy it from newegg but they only seem to have a oem one of 2.8ghz so i'm not sure where i'm going to buy it from


    do you have any suggestions? thanks.
     
  12. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,008
    Likes Received:
    77
    Trophy Points:
    128
    what speed are you running at right now?
     
  13. gmesncomp

    gmesncomp Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    pentium 4 1.6 ghz

    im wondering if i should even upgrade at all since it wont make that much of a difference...

    im also wondering if it's possible to over clock this processor that i already have....
     
  14. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,008
    Likes Received:
    77
    Trophy Points:
    128
    might be possible to overclock tho depends on bios whether it is locked for that option or not.
     
  15. gmesncomp

    gmesncomp Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    bios? i have no idea what a bios is

    can you fill me in?
     
  16. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,008
    Likes Received:
    77
    Trophy Points:
    128
  17. gmesncomp

    gmesncomp Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    ooh i see now

    but i still don't understand how to over clock a processor
    there doesn't seem to be an option to increase the processor speed in the bios according to the dell site you gave me...

    (sorry i'm noob)
     
    Last edited: Feb 5, 2007
  18. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,008
    Likes Received:
    77
    Trophy Points:
    128
    than must be locked so can't oc the cpu.
     
  19. gmesncomp

    gmesncomp Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    ah i see.

    well could you tell me how it would look or say if it could be over clocked? (i just want to know for future reference)

    thanks
     
  20. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,008
    Likes Received:
    77
    Trophy Points:
    128
    being able to change cpu ratios such as 100mhz x 16 = 1.6ghz
     

Share This Page