1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How do I ensure a particular codec is used?

Discussion in 'Video capturing from analog sources' started by themonkey, Sep 22, 2004.

  1. themonkey

    themonkey Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I have searched the forums, and whilst there is a wealth of info regarding codecs, I can't seem to find the answer to this question.
    I will be running Win2000Pro on a separate machine, and intend to transfer VHS to DVD. Is it possible to choose which codec is used in the converting or is it a matter of first come, first served.
    Is it possible (or advisable) to uninstall every codec on the system and only install a particular one such as PicVideo of Huffy (or whatever)?
     
  2. vurbal

    vurbal Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2002
    Messages:
    3,102
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    It depends on what capture device and program are used. Some capture devices only do hardware encoding, like the Canopus DV capture devices or the MPEG encoder board Sony puts in their PCs. Others allow you to send the video to your capture program uncompressed and let the software do any encoding.

    I'll move this to the Analog Capture forum. You should get more help there.
    _X_X_X_X_X_[small]Looks like I picked the wrong week to stop sniffing glue
    DVD Rebuilder Guides: http://www.afterdawn.com/guides/archive/dvd_rebuilder_tutorial.cfm http://www.afterdawn.com/guides/archive/dvd_rebuilder_tutorial_advanced.cfm[/small]
     
    Last edited: Sep 22, 2004
  3. themonkey

    themonkey Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Thanks vurbal - sorry about the wrong forum. I should have said I'll be using a Datavideo DAC-100 capture device with probably WinDv
     
    Last edited: Sep 22, 2004
  4. vurbal

    vurbal Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2002
    Messages:
    3,102
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    I did a quick search on that device, and it appears to be an external hardware converter, meaning you can't select the codec yourself. It will automatically encode the files as DV.
     
  5. themonkey

    themonkey Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Thanks once again vurbal. All help appreciated.
     
  6. vurbal

    vurbal Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2002
    Messages:
    3,102
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    No problem ;)
     

Share This Page