1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How do I flash my DMS4 SE LITE modchip - PROBLEM

Discussion in 'PS2 - Hardware boot discussion' started by gocat0, Apr 5, 2007.

  1. gocat0

    gocat0 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I cannot work out how to flash my modchip, please help me!

    1. I have a v12 PS2 and modded it with a DMS4 SE LITE modchip (including laser board).
    2. I followed the installation tests during installation as suggested and they all passed ok.
    3. I burned TOXICBIOS (v1.4) onto a TDK CDR with Nero7 (burn image).
    4. I put the CD into the PS2, held down the square button and turned the power on.
    5. The screen came up with DMS4 Disabled, 'Please reset your console' (or something similar).
    6. When I then press the reset button on the front RHS of the PS2 the screen soon says insert a PS2 disk or game (or something like that). It thinks there is no compatible disk in the drive.
    7. The PS2 plays (boots?) a normal PS2 disk (original game) with no problems.
    8. I tried burning the TOXICBIOS onto a Verbatim CDR disk - same problem.

    Please help me, what on earth could I be doing wrong! Why can't I flash properly?
     
  2. gocat0

    gocat0 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Bye the way, I burned both disks at about 4X or so, the slowest that Nero would do it!!
     
  3. steimy

    steimy Active member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    12,030
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    96
    are you burning the CUE file only?
    And making sure that the chip is not still disabled when you try to load it.

    Other than that it should be easy
    1. burn cue file to disc as image
    2. put in your PS2
    3. start PS2 and it should load up.
     
  4. Krystovar

    Krystovar Regular member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2004
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I think in step 3 he mentioned that he did burn it as an image.

    The problem sounds weird. The chip seems to be installed correctly since you can disable it by holding down square when booting. Let me ask you a stupid question: When you're trying to boot the BIOS disc, you are doing it without holding down square, right? Because if you hold down square while trying to boot the BIOS install disc, the chip will disable and won't boot the install disc. Like i said, a stupid question but sometimes it's the obvious things that don't get asked.

    If you're booting correctly then I would maybe suggest double-checking that you downloaded the correct BIOS file (i.e. make sure you didn't accidentally download the Toxic OS or a BIOS version for a different chip.)
     
    Last edited: Apr 6, 2007
  5. gocat0

    gocat0 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    thanks guys for your advice. There is no such thing as a stupid question for me!! ok here is what I know.

    1. When I burned the 'image' I recall Nero only showing the .cue file in the folder I am burning from, so I am pretty sure that I am doing it correctly. Anyway when I use explorer to look at the burned disk there are 3 files on it, SYSTEM, TB_UPG14.ELF and ZZZ.ZZZ. Does that look right?

    2. As for holding down the square button, good question. I thought of that. I did it several times both ways. Holding it down gives me the 'DMS4 disabled' screen, and NOT holding it down, it goes thru its normal graphics bootup images and comes up with the 'insert a PS2 disk' message (forget exact words - I sure you know what I mean, the same one as if there is no disk in the PS2). All this happens every time.

    3. Any ideas other than trying to download my TOXICBIOS file again and reburn? Is it worth doing it with a DVD-R instead of a CD-R?
     
  6. steimy

    steimy Active member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    12,030
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    96
    sounds like you did everything correctly. It could just be that the PS2 is having a problem reading CD's, which some do.

    Either there is something wrong with the install (if it doesn't play DVD back up games either), or possible your laser needs to be cleaned and possible even adjusted to read CD media better.

    You do not want to hold square when booting the Toxic disc, that is just for getting into the settings once you have flashed it.
     
  7. DBM_Bones

    DBM_Bones Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Have you tried using a CR-RW as they somtimes read better than CR-R's

    Try burning a PS1 game onto a CD and see if that read, will be a way of testing your media.
     
  8. gocat0

    gocat0 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    No I have not tried a PS1 disk or CD-RW. I will give that a go and report. I did try a DVD-R but that didn't work either, grrrrrr

    I assume that PS1 games can be copied and played in PS2 machines without a modchip obviously. thank you.
     
  9. DBM_Bones

    DBM_Bones Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    you can only play copied PS1 games with a mod chip, but you said you have one, but also you sould be able to get a second hand PS1 game for about $1
     

Share This Page