1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How Do I Get Started?

Discussion in 'DVDR' started by leggettc, Feb 10, 2005.

1. leggettc

leggettc Member

I would like to start making backup copies of my purchased DVD's. I have never done this before and have no idea where to start. I have read the equipment section of the forum as well as the guides but still need a little help here. What I need to know is, will my current equipment work, what other equipment will I need and what software? I would like to make one disk copies of my movies. I don't want to split a movie on 2 disks. I have a Dell Computer with Pent. III 1 Gig processor, 256MB RAM, Windows ME, Samsung DVD-ROM SD-612. If someone can tell me what is the proper equipment and software and where look, I will be happy to research but just need a starting point. Thanks

2. Rotary

Rotary Senior member

hi

BASICALLY

use dvd decrypter to rip the dvd to your hard drive! (takes out copy protection etc...)

then use dvdshrink to compress your ripped files to a dvdr size disc. set dvd shrink to burn with dvd decrypter (you see this on backup etc... settings)

now for guides on this follow the links by my picture! below.

3. leggettc

leggettc Member

Forgot to add in my original post...I have a 40 gig HD whish is about half full. I also want to play the copies on my home DVD, a Denon DVD Player. Thanks for the reply but will I need to add equipment..if so, what is best and will what I already work well enough to not take hours to make a copy? Thanks

4. Rotary

Rotary Senior member

hi

about 1 hour alltogether!

and you only need the 2 apps! FREE APPS!

aswell as a dvdr burner and discs!

Last edited: Feb 10, 2005
  5. ghostluv

ghostluv Member

Rotary,

you put that very well, all you need is those two apps which is really free, blank medias and a dvdr burner.
    ;)

Ghost...

6. leggettc

leggettc Member

Rotary,