1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

how do i install this xbox HD????????

Discussion in 'Xbox - Hardware mods' started by homie865, Sep 4, 2004.

  1. homie865

    homie865 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    my xbox hard drive broke the day before i got my Xenium mod chip. I bought a new unlocked hard drive on ebay that was taken out of an xbox so it should have the xbox files on it so all i have to do is replace it with the broken one.i first installed the xenium then swapped hard drives and it didnt work. maybe its because the hard drive came from a different version of xbox and/or becausethe new hard drive is a different brand. can you tell me if theres anything else i have to do. like installing it into my pc to do something to it prior to putting it into my xbox. let me know

    i also want to know how to burn games. i think you have to network the xbox to the pc and send the files to the pc from the xbox but i could be wrong, let me know.

    THANX
  2. AfterDawn

    AfterDawn Advertisement

  3. rmurrar

    rmurrar Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    UPGRADING XBOX HDD

    FOR EVOLUTIONX v1.8.2594 or higher

    1. What you need :

    * EvolutionX 1.8.2594 or v1.8.2812 dashboard or higher.
    * A modchip/bios with the HDD-swap hack. (All recent EvoX and X-ecuter BIOS's support this feature, but if you have an old mod chip (Xtender, Enigmah-X you won't be able to upgrade your HDD)
    * A new HDD (normal PC IDE drive upto 120gb). NO need to zero(hdprepare) the drive anymore. Just use a new blank drive.
    * A CD-RW/DVD-RW (or anything that reads fine in your xbox).
    * EvoX dashboard installed on your current HD. (see tutorial)
    * Know how EvoX Dashboard works (ftp , transfering files , configuring ini file , ...).


    2. Backup your settings

    Boot your Xbox.
    Under "Systems Utils" , select "Backup". (this is the location of the backup utility if u didn't change the menu structure in the original evox.ini file).
    This should have made a backup of some important settings of your xbox.
    If everything worked fine it made a directory /backup in the C drive of your Xbox HD.


    3. Backup your drives

    Connect with FTP to your Xbox and copy the whole "C" and "E" drive to your PC HD. ("C" is pretty small , the size of "E" depends on what u uploaded there already).
    Make 100% sure you have a FULL backup of the Xbox C & E drive on your PC.
    Also check that in C you have a directory /backup with 5 files in it. If you don't have this it means something went wrong in step 2.


    4. Make a EvoX Install HD disk

    These are the files you need on your Evox Install HD CD :

    * The EvoX XBE file , should in the disk root and called "default.xbe"
    * The "evox.ini" should be changed , open it in notepad.
    Make sure the network settings are set correctly for your home network.
    Under "[Misc]"
    put "UseFDrive" to "Yes"
    Delete everything what's under "[Menu]" it and replace by this :

    Section "Install Menu"
    {
    Item "Install New drive",@210
    Item "Settings",@9
    Item "Reboot",@5
    }

    [Action_10]


    Info "Install HDD - Xbox-Scene"
    Warning "This will format all drives"
    Warning "Make sure you have a backup of C & E"
    Progress "Formatting drives"

    ConfigSector "\backup\disk.bin"
    Format c:
    Format e:
    Format f:
    Format x:
    Format y:
    Format z:

    [Action_11]

    [Action_12]

    Here is an example of an evox.ini file. You might need to change the network settings for your configuration. (use the same network settings as on your EvoX dashboard installed on your original Xbox HD).

    Note : some people might wonder why I don't use the copy feature of evox to restore the C & E drive automaticly. It will work , but there's a small bug in this version of evox 'cause all files copied with the copy function will be 'read only' ... that means you can't delete/rename/overwirte the files.
    So atm , we can't use this method.

    * You should also add the complete /backup directory from the C drive on your Xbox.

    * So , the complete CD should contain :

    default.xbe (the evox dash)
    evox.ini (the evox ini file)
    /backup/bios.bin (from /c/backup on Xbox HD)
    /backup/disk.bin (from /c/backup on Xbox HD)
    /backup/eeprom.bin (from /c/backup on Xbox HD)
    /backup/hddinfo.txt (from /c/backup on Xbox HD)
    /backup/hddkey.bin (from /c/backup on Xbox HD)

    First make a xiso of the disk content (tutorial) , then burn it with PrimoDVD (tutorial) or Nero on media compatible with your xbox (cd-rw/dvd-rw/dvd-r).


    5. Replace HD

    Open your xbox (tutorial) and replace the HD. Make sure your new HD is set to "master" and don't forget to plug-in both the electricity-cable & IDE-cable.

    I strongly suggest to keep your old harddrive untouched... you might need it later if something goes wrong.


    6. Try booting the CD & FTP

    Boot your Xbox (it will give a red light after some secs) and put the Evox Install HD disk in the drive.
    Power off your xbox and restart it (with disk in the drive).
    Evox should boot.
    Now make sure that your network settings (in the evox.ini file) are correct ... try to FTP to your xbox. (if it doesn't work, correct evox.ini and reburn a new evox Install HD disk)
    If EvoX doesn't even boot , it means :

    * you used media your xbox can't read.
    * your evox dashboard isn't called default.xbe
    * you made an error in the evox.ini
    * you didn't make a "xiso" before burning.
    * you didn't burn the "xiso" correctly
    * your modchip doesn't have the HDD-swap feature
    * the disk has no /backup directory with 5files


    7. Format the drives

    If everything above is OK , just select "Install New drive" and then confirm ("Yes").
    The software will now format the drives.
    When finished , it will return the EvoX dashboard.


    8. Transfer C & E

    Now connect with FTP to your xbox. You should see all drivenames.
    Transfer the whole C & E backup u made on your PC to the C & E on your new Xbox HD.
    Remove the disk from your Xbox , and reboot.
    The Xbox should now reboot from your new xbox HD.
    If not , you probably did something wrong while restoring the drives.
    Just boot the Evox Install HD disk and you can FTP to your xbox again and check what might have gone wrong.
    If needed you can always reinstall your old xbox HD.

    9. Change evox.ini on C
    Under "[Misc]"
    put "UseFDrive" to "Yes"
    else you can't use the F drive correctly.

    Your new xbox HD is installed :)
  4. yankeered

    yankeered Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2003
    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    first of all forget all that stuff up there good info but not gonna help ya as easily as get slayers auto installer then put in mod chip then your harddrive any harddrive that is not locked will do then run slayers
    read until your eyes hurt then read another two weeks
    _X_X_X_X_X_[small]don't kick'm , hit'm

    >>>>>>USE THE SEARCH BUTTON BEFORE YOU ASK<<<<<<<<

    intel d875,p4-2600,dvd+/-,dvd rom,geforce5700ultra,
    max120music,wd120movies,wd160xboxgames,wd40opsystem.
    **xbox1,tsopflash,max120 **xbox2,tsopflash,max160[/small]
    Last edited: Sep 4, 2004
  5. homie865

    homie865 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    hey rmurrar MY XBOX HARD DRIVE IS BROKEN!!!!!!!!!!! I cannot boot my xbox!!!!!!!!! the replaicement drive does not work for some reason. i wanted to know how to get that one to work. read before you reply
  6. homie865

    homie865 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    yankeered i dont know what you just said.
  7. yankeered

    yankeered Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2003
    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    just download the slayers autointaller iso from the web
    ,you find it
    ,open nero and close wizard then
    ,in nero, at top, choose 'recorder'
    ,then 'burn image'
    ok now you have slayers

    your modchip is flashed and installed

    open box ,remove old harddrive , throw away
    put new one in , i believe you put jumper on cs
    now back to slayers put it in and reboot the xbox
    now slayers will begin
    choose the harddrive option that is what you got
    later goodluck
  8. CHADSR

    CHADSR Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2003
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hello,I've tried everything.I am installing a 40gb hd in my xbox but it only reads at 2 or 4 gb what could i be doing wrong i've read everthing in this post and it won'tsee it as 40gb.Someone please help.
  9. yankeered

    yankeered Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2003
    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    i've havn't had that problem before but possibly you picked rebuild retail harddrive instead of build large hd in slayers? or maybe some flash or evox ini related
    stuff that i'm not familiar with.
    keep trying
  10. pbailey

    pbailey Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2003
    Messages:
    469
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Other than whats posted above make sure your hdd doesn't have the option for gig limiting, and obviously make sure the jumper isn't set so... Otherwise i don't know either, learning the hard way on this shite...

Share This Page