1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How do I make quality backups?

Discussion in 'PS2 - DVD backup discussion' started by javamoe, Mar 14, 2005.

1. javamoe

javamoe Member

Hi I am new to making backups and I am having trouble with my disc playing cleanly. I have a fliptop and Swap magic. I have only made one dvd so far. However, it does not play all the time. When it does play I get long load times and pauses thoughout the game. I am using TDK DVD+r. I have not had any trouble with this disc in the past burning movies and other stuff. Does anyone have similar problems with TDK discs? Can anyone suggest another brand to use. Thanks

Another issue may be that my lazer is dirty. I tried some of the suggestions for cleaning the lazer and raising the cd dial. Both seemed to not have much of an effect. Any suggestions?
    thanks

2. nycaznk3v

nycaznk3v Member

yes...i have the same problem,

im using nero...ritek G04 media and burning at 2x
    i know the media is good because i burn backup of movies all the time and none of them has failed me.

so far all my backups dont work.

do you think we should try to burn with a different media?

Last edited: Mar 14, 2005
  3. keras

keras Regular member

If you have an older Ps2, you might want to try a -r instead of a +r dvd. I use Teon (el cheapo) dvd's for movies and they work great, but they don't work at all for games. I switched to maxell 8x -r's, burning at 2x (slowest speed i can) and haven't had a problem yet.

So my suggestion is to try some different media until you find one that works well for you.

4. squizzle

squizzle Active member