1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How do I play games directly from my xbox hard drive?

Discussion in 'Xbox - General discussion' started by streki, Feb 7, 2005.

1. streki

streki Member

One week ago I was a complete noob, but thanks to many hours of online study, I've so far managed to:

1. fit a spiderchip to my box
    2. flash the bios (xecuter 2)
    3. Download loads of homebrew stuff (via ftp)
    4. Install a 160GB hard drive
    5. Set up the HDD to boot into Evox

But I can't find any tutorials that tell me how to rip a game to my hard drive and play it without the game disk being in the DVD drive!

Can someone point me in the right direction?

The only instruction set I could find involved a utility called "boxplorer" that was supposed to be included with Evolution X, but it doesn't appear to be included in my copy! (I'm running version 3935).

I'm so very close to completing this little project.... Please help :)

2. Bohefus

Bohefus Regular member

easiest way to do it is to install an app called DVD2Xbox.The .ini in evox is setup to automatically look for games in E:/Games or F:/Games or G:/Games. All you have to do is create a folder within 1 of those 3 directories and name it whatever you like(most people name it after the game).Transfer the game files into this folder,restart your xbox and the game will be visible within the games tab from evox.
    DVD2Xbox will transfer the game files from a disc directly from your dvdrom drive of your xbox to the hard drive of your xbox and create the folder for you.
    Or you can do it manually without using DVD2Xbox by ftp'n a discs contents to your computer and then back to your xbox hdd.