1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How do we stream files now

Discussion in 'PS3 - Modding & Hacking' started by strife10, May 26, 2007.

  1. strife10

    strife10 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ever since the new update has been out I've been trying to connect my computer and my PS3 over my network to stream music, videos, etc...from my computer to my PS3 but I have no idea how to do that....Maybe I will still have to get that IPod Apple TV thing that just came out.
     
  2. tyler123

    tyler123 Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    use nero media home took me 5 mins to set up
     
  3. strife10

    strife10 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Okay cool so I have it set up but the only problem I am having is sharing my files. It's on an external hard drive hooked up 2 my PC. It says that the files must be indexed and I have no clue how to index them.
     
  4. kfontenot

    kfontenot Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Nero Mediahome requires you to index the files through another Nero program called Scout. It should be under the Nero Tools menu. If you have a bunch of files to share it might take a while for Scout to index all of them.
     
  5. Edgewise

    Edgewise Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    352
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I just use windows media player, if you're on windows. Or you could use nero, what ever.
     
  6. strife10

    strife10 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    With media player I'm having a problem playing whatever it is. It shows my play list but no tracks. And nero I cant figure out how to tag the files with nero scout. I'd rather use Nero, looks nicer and easier.
     
  7. PeaInAPod

    PeaInAPod Active member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3,065
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
  8. strife10

    strife10 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    So I figured out how to index but now I can see folders and the like on my PS3 but when I go into them it says no title is found.
     
  9. PeaInAPod

    PeaInAPod Active member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3,065
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
  10. Kratos23

    Kratos23 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2007
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    i downloaded tversity and all of my file folders show up but when i go to the last part where the song is it says unsupported data. Does anyone know how to fix this or is having the same problem?
     
  11. strife10

    strife10 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Im having a problem wit nero as it says there is no data and the other program the TV one says Im not allowed access on my PS3 WTF?
     
  12. Kratos23

    Kratos23 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2007
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    yeah i dont get y its not working. My ps3 recognizes that i have tvsersity and it sees all of the folders but when i get to the main file to play it says unsupported data and wont play it.
     
  13. PeaInAPod

    PeaInAPod Active member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3,065
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Are you sure that the format your music is in is supported by the PS3?
     
  14. Kratos23

    Kratos23 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2007
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    its in mp3 format should that work?
     
  15. PeaInAPod

    PeaInAPod Active member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3,065
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    I got a fix for you Kratos23. Download and install the newest version of TVersity ver. 0.9.10.3. It has a lot of bug fixes one of them being....
    You can download the new version from here
     
    Last edited: May 31, 2007
  16. Kratos23

    Kratos23 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2007
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    when i click the link it says page requested not found. Can you send it again?
     
  17. PeaInAPod

    PeaInAPod Active member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3,065
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Post edited, the link works now :) good luck.
     
  18. strife10

    strife10 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    So I updated my TVersity and Im now able to have access to my media however I am getting this error a lot when trying to access media. "a connection to the media server could nt be established, check the settings for the media server and network devices."

    So whats the problem now. Happens all the time when I try copying over and trying to accesss some stuff but I have be able to get access before, so I dont know whats wrong.
     
  19. Kratos23

    Kratos23 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2007
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    i downloaded the latest version and it works perfectly with my PS3
     
  20. junk146

    junk146 Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hello
    Did one of you try it on vista. I have 2 computer in the house and one is on xp.
    I got it to work on xp but I can’t get it working on vista I don’t know why.
    I was trying to use Windows Media Player on vista to get it working.
    I added all my mp3 and videos and photo there and all I get it one mp3 on the ps3.
    I don’t get this I have the firewall off and it not working. I was trying to use TVersity
    And I can’t see no files from it thank you for your help.
     

Share This Page