1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How do you get rid of pixelization problems????

Discussion in 'Video to DVD' started by jaycee7, Jan 31, 2005.

1. jaycee7

jaycee7 Member

I'm new to burning dvds. I use DVD shrink, nero 6 ultra lite edition, Sony burner and tdk dvd+r disks. My burn speed is only 4x although it can handle 16x. The stand alone dvd player is a Panasonic, about 1 yr old or so. fairly new, good condition never had a problem with pixelization except for one original disk. The problem seems to be that just about every disk that i burn there is at least some pixelization on the playback.

Any recommendations and suggestions are more than welcome! This problem is driving me nuts.

2. rebootjim

rebootjim Active member

Any time you take data of a given size, and reduce it, you are going to lose quality. Even DVDShrink can only do so much.
    The best you can hope for, is to remove everything you don't need, and only shrink the main movie. The less you shrink, the better the quality.
    Deep analysis helps, but only so much.

3. jaycee7

jaycee7 Member

It seems like burn speed is a big factor.

4. rebootjim

rebootjim Active member

Burning speed should not matter, providing you're using blanks that can be written to at the speed you're using.
    Although some would say, burn at half the rated speed of the disk to insure compatibility, I disagree.
    If the disk is rated at 8x, burn at 8x. If it fails, there is something else wrong. It's not the disk's fault, nor is it likely to be the burning software's fault. More likely, your system is attempting to do something else at the same time. Even if this is the case, if the whole of Windows is set up correctly, one should still be able to multitask durning burning.
    A computer is designed to be used, not for you to sit around waiting for one thing to finish before you start another.