1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How do you Mod your PS2

Discussion in 'PS2 - Hardware boot discussion' started by mackaveli, Jan 12, 2005.

  1. mackaveli

    mackaveli Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2005
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I searched the forum, but can't find a straight answer to my question. Will the WD 200GB hard drive work with HDAdvance and do I still need a mod chip?? Could I rent games, copy them to the hard drive and then play them later??
    Sorry guys, these are my only questions. I just don't want to drop a couple hundred dollars and not get what I expected. Thanks.
     
    Last edited: Jan 12, 2005
  2. sly_61019

    sly_61019 Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Messages:
    9,522
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    1st question, probably not. western digital are not very compatible, get a maxtor. 2, yes.
     
  3. mackaveli

    mackaveli Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2005
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Okay, I'll go with the Maxtor. You responded yes to the second question ... does this mean I still need a Modchip or was it in reference to the renting situation. Thanks for your help!
     
  4. sly_61019

    sly_61019 Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Messages:
    9,522
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    sorry, thats for the renting. You don't need a modchip if you buy hdadvance.
     
  5. mackaveli

    mackaveli Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2005
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Does the hard drive have to be external?
     
  6. sly_61019

    sly_61019 Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Messages:
    9,522
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    no, it needs to be internal, and you must have a sony network adaptor, unless you have a new slim ps2.
     
  7. mackaveli

    mackaveli Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2005
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Thanks for all your help!
     
  8. sly_61019

    sly_61019 Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Messages:
    9,522
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    do you have a new slim one, or the fat one?
     
  9. komod0

    komod0 Guest

    sorry but dont get a maxtor they have a HIGH fail rate and at the comp store where my m8 works they have lots of maxtors sif i got one as well thing fried

    http://www.driveservice.com/bestwrst.htm

    segate all the way
     

Share This Page