1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

how does a flip-top work

Discussion in 'PS2 - Software boot discussion' started by evoke, Aug 12, 2004.

  1. evoke

    evoke Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2004
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    how does it work a flip top work. i think i have an idea but could some one just give me a brief on it. it sounds easier than getting solder modchip. but it sounds to easy for to work fulling.

    i am thinking of buying one because i installed a dms3 into my V3 PS2 and it doesn`t seem to work
     
  2. sly_61019

    sly_61019 Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Messages:
    9,522
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    fliptop works great. when you hit eject on your ps2, it rechecks the security stuff you cant burn. so you boot the swap magic disc, it stops spinning, then you flip open the top (without hitting eject) and swap for your backup. I know you are going to read about the slide card, DONT get this, get the fliptop.
     
  3. gH05t

    gH05t Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    can swap magic play import games if so can it play all of em?
     
  4. samp

    samp Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    hmmmmmm hey im like a totLY newbie and i just wna no wot i need to get to play burnt games and if im gona have to open the ps2 to install it an so forth and i no u might not belive this but i have managed to play a burnt game once at my friends cos we took off the cover and opened the disc drive manuly and it worked .....PS. u guys got msn for a proper tal bout this stuff
     
  5. zxspeky

    zxspeky Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2003
    Messages:
    604
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I don't see how you got it to play without using an ar2,gs or SM disc, how did you load it?
     
  6. samp

    samp Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    probs cos the ps2 was either chiped or it didnt realse the disc wer being changed so it thouhgt it was playing a normal game and the lens just shink to suit the back up game
     
  7. zxspeky

    zxspeky Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2003
    Messages:
    604
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    hmmmmmm?
     
  8. evoke

    evoke Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2004
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    that is a good idea .so you might be able to put a burnt game into the ps2 if put the disc in the disc drive manuallly you say.

    has anyone else tried this .it has a chance of working
     
  9. sly_61019

    sly_61019 Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Messages:
    9,522
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    it wont work without some kind of boot disc, swap magic, gameshark, or action replay.
     
  10. zxspeky

    zxspeky Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2003
    Messages:
    604
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26

Share This Page