1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How does the Initial firmware get on a PSP?

Discussion in 'Sony PSP - Homebrew software' started by Foilpact, Feb 22, 2007.

  1. Foilpact

    Foilpact Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2007
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hi there,

    I was just curious as to how the firmware gets installed onto PSP's in the factory?

    Is the firmware burned to the chips before they are installed in the MB or do they get flashed through the USB port with some flasher program??

    Just wanting to know if there no chance at all (in theory) that you could un-brick a PSP if there is no OE recovery menu....
     
  2. mrgooey

    mrgooey Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2005
    Messages:
    4,058
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    This should be in the mod and firmware discussion.

    The firmware is install in the psp "flash". There are four different root of ur psp. First ur UMD, whcih u can view the files in the UMD. Then the MS which is the Memory stick. Then Flash0 and Flash1. Flash 0 is the folder that put the every info u need, including the firmware. If a file is missing in that folder then u are screw up. Flash 1 is not that important. The recovery menu can let u access the flash0 files. Therefore u can recover any semi-brick psp.
     
  3. xyzizzy

    xyzizzy Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2007
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    how do u enter recovery with a screwed up downgrade to 1.50?
     
  4. AUZPSP

    AUZPSP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2007
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    U DONT UR SCREWED!
     
  5. AUZPSP

    AUZPSP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2007
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    unless u hold down r when booting and a menu comes up
     
  6. xyzizzy

    xyzizzy Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2007
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    doesnt work.
     
  7. mrgooey

    mrgooey Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2005
    Messages:
    4,058
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    In order to use recovery, u need a CS edition or get the recovery menu for 1.5. Since u already brick ur psp there is no way to un brick it,
     
  8. xyzizzy

    xyzizzy Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2007
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11

Share This Page