1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How important is CD-R quality, really?

Discussion in 'CD-R(W) Media' started by Leigh098, Jun 9, 2003.

1. Leigh098

Leigh098 Guest

Newbie here. I've burned several CDs (Nero bundled with burner, PC, Win98SE) that won't play on my home stereo but play in my car. I THINK I'm doing everything right: burning at 4x, shutting off progs that might interfere, and I use just the burner drive so stuff must be being copied to and from my HD. (Nero doesn't 'splain stuff real well; most user-hostile documentation ever written.) I've actually had some CDs play once or twice in my home stereo and refuse to play later (stereo's about 6 years old, I cleaned the lens). This makes me think that the problem is the stack of Memorex CD-Rs I bought -- 30 for $15, silver on both sides. [bold]Have you guys found CD-R quality to be a hugely serious problem that could result in semi-playable CDs?[/bold] If so, which brands do YOU use to get reliable results? I've read elsewhere to stick with companies that manufacture their own CD-Rs: Fuji, Maxell, Mitsui, TY, Verbatim, there are probably others.

At my (half)wit's end -- Leigh

2. 69theye

69theye Guest

I can't find any other reason for your question that your stereo doesn't support cd-r medias, if your car stereo plays them well. Ofcourse you can always try some other disc, but I don't believe that it would help any. This is strange 'cause I have always considered that older cd-players are more suitable for cd-r medias.

You didn't mention if the cd's play well in your computer?

3. mhoope02

mhoope02 Member

Heh, no need to be at your half wits end...
    I would be 90% sure that your CD's will play back in your computer, which leaves the finger pointing at the stereo. We've all had them; stereo's that "sometimes" play "some" CDR's "if its not cold" and "you dont try to skip tracks" :)