1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

how many eps can i fit into a single layer dvd -r

Discussion in 'DVD±R media' started by stellar20, Jan 14, 2008.

  1. stellar20

    stellar20 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    ok i have a couple of 700.13 MB sized xvids which i will be converting into dvd how many episodes will i fit in one single layer dvd also count the fact that i will be doing custom menus on the dvd
     
  2. attar

    attar Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Messages:
    11,504
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    128
    If they are the nominal one hour type, then I put three on maximum.
    I notice quality rapidly drops off with more.
     
  3. dragnandy

    dragnandy Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2007
    Messages:
    900
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    hey i have this same question too. and since its kind of the same topic, i was wondering, how many eps can i put if one episode is 135mb, about 35min long?
     
  4. stellar20

    stellar20 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    hey man do the math 1 hour each 3 eps max for good quality now 6 eps for 1 dvd
     
  5. dragnandy

    dragnandy Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2007
    Messages:
    900
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    i was just asking because i thought there would be more factors determining how many episodes can be put on like the size of the episode, or the quality of the video, and such.
     
  6. stellar20

    stellar20 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    sorry that i dont know im seraching that as we speak
     
  7. Amir89

    Amir89 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2006
    Messages:
    553
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    If you really you want you could put 10, 700Mb AVI files onto one DVD5. Granted they'd all be at around 600Kbp/s and would like colourful blocks on your television but if you don't care about quality than just decrease the bitrate right down, it's easily doable.

    As attar said, don't exceed 2-3 AVI's if their around an hour long if you expect reasonable quality. If their full-length movies don't even bother trying more than one.
    If you want to fit as much as possible use Dual Layer DVD's then.

    It also heavily depends on what application you use. Some applications have excellent shrinking/compression algorithms and can squeeze a lot more data onto a DVD while keep a decent bitrate.
    I personally use DVD Flick, I highly recommend it.. it's easy to use, free and gives you excellent results. You can manually set the bitrates for your AVI's too so you can squeeze the most amount of quality into each disc.

    dragnandy:
    I believe you posted this question somewhere else too, and I already gave you a perfectly good answer, go check it out.
     
  8. stellar20

    stellar20 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    thanks bro also do you know a good program for custom dvd menus i am interested in that to
     
  9. dragnandy

    dragnandy Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2007
    Messages:
    900
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    yes, i asked about what kind of software besides convertXtoDVD and you told me to get dvdflick, and i have it now. thanks,again.
     
    Last edited: Jan 15, 2008
  10. Amir89

    Amir89 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2006
    Messages:
    553
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    thanks bro also do you know a good program for custom dvd menus i am interested in that to

    As I said go with DVD Flick (v1.3.0.0) or ConvertXtoDVD both allow you to create Menus. ConvertXtoDVD 3, the latest version, has a lot more menu editing options/layouts from what I've seen, if you want to make slick, custom layouts.
     
  11. bratcher

    bratcher Active member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2004
    Messages:
    1,199
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    I just switched to the new Convertx2DVD v.3 (beta) from v.2 & it's a good piece of software. As to the max time on a DVD5 I don't put more than 4 hours on it. Most of the DVD's I make run 3 to 3.5 (or so) hours. Quality is good enough for me. 2 movies, four hour long TV shows (at 50 minutes each) or 8 half hours at 25 minutes each. For the TV shows it winds up to 200 minutes of video which is 3 hours & 20 minutes per disc.
     
  12. Amir89

    Amir89 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2006
    Messages:
    553
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Anything more than 2 & 1/2 hours of continuous Video will usually force your Bitrate down to around 2500-3000Kbp/s which in my opinion is sub-par, it's SVCD quality.

    That's why I like using DVD Flick, so you can manually set your bitrate to squeeze as much quality as possible into ever DVD. I usually use up around 4485 out of 4489Mb of disc space available on a DVD, compared to ConvertX which always leaves a big gap of around 200Mb or more, a big waste of space.
     
  13. bratcher

    bratcher Active member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2004
    Messages:
    1,199
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Well the movies & TV shows I get from the usenet newsgroups are mostly VCD & SVCD quality anyway. The DIVX & XVID video's might be a bit better than SVCD but I'm not sure so I have Connvertx encode everything from these to SVCD quality & get 3 & often close to 4 hours on a DVD video. It looks good enough on my TV set although DVD (higher bitrates) quality is a lot better.

    I'm sure that Convertx does that so a user doesn't run into problems at the end of a disc.

    As far as TV shows I record on the cable DVR go I play those to a DVD recorder at SP quality, rip them with DVD Decrypter, cut the commercials out with VideoRedo then put 2 hours worth on a new DVD with Convertx. Looks much better than the other video's I make. Higher bitratea are better if the original quality is there in the first place. If the source doesn't look that good then I encode with a lower bitrate & get more time on a disc.
     
  14. Amir89

    Amir89 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2006
    Messages:
    553
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Meh personal preference, but I've got a 109" Plasma so for me you see imperfections straight away when the Bitrate drops below 3000Kbp/s.

    Even 200Mb of empty space would be alright, but last night I converted a 2 & 1/2 hour long movie with ConvertX 3, the latest version, and it only used up 3.37Gb of space. That's just ridiculous.. 1.33Gb could easily mean the difference between 2500Kbp/s and 3000.

    And as long as your using decent media there's no reason why you can't burn all the way to the end.

    ConvertX is just too wasteful in my opinion, and despite all of it's improvements and features they still haven't mastered the basics, quality; which is why I stick with DVD Flick.
     
    Last edited: Jan 18, 2008
  15. bratcher

    bratcher Active member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2004
    Messages:
    1,199
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
     
    Last edited: Jan 18, 2008

Share This Page