1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How Maximize internet connection?

Discussion in 'All other topics' started by Jay05, Nov 28, 2004.

1. Jay05

Jay05 Regular member

Hey, I have a friend, but he lives out from the US and was wondering if there was any way for him to get the maximum connection for internet. He uses a modem which is like a 52k, I think or somewhere close to it. He says that he only gets a 32k or 28k and sometimes 37.4k connection whenever he tries to connect to the internet. He tells me his friends use modems as well but they get a high enough connection like 50.2k or 51.6k. He's really frustrated cuz he can't even play online games with that...well that's what he tells, my guess is that it lags...Well can somebody help him out or give him advice? I'm not good with internet things, so I'm asking the afterdawn people. Thanx for all your time and help!

2. ddp

ddp Moderator Staff Member

tell friend to try his computer at a friend's place that is getting good dialup speed. if friend gets a good speed than problem is with phone line either in house or on street. if no improvement check manufacturer of modem for update & possibly buy a new 56k modem different brand than what he has now. who made his modem

3. Jay05

Jay05 Regular member

He uses a softk56Data Fax CARP. He says that he only gets like a 37.4k connections (that's like the average...which is slow I guess...) I've been to his house like once cuz it's expensive to go there cuz it's not in the US and it's SLOW... Trust me... I think he needs help.... I mean like the cyber cafe's around his place gives an average connection of 50.2k (I think somewhere around there...) Anyways thanx for all your help! Hope this problem is solvable...

4. CJC

CJC Regular member

Hey

Ok, when you first connect to the internet, it records the first initial connection.