1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

how to backup ps2 games

Discussion in 'PS2 - Software boot discussion' started by kakapipi, Dec 27, 2004.

  1. kakapipi

    kakapipi Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    what's the best program to backup ps2 games

    how to make iso and burn it
     
  2. sly_61019

    sly_61019 Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Messages:
    9,522
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    dvd decrypter
    mode-iso-read
    mode-iso-write
     
  3. casacasa

    casacasa Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    i dont know how to get started i just got a dvd burner and i can back up movies now i am trying to read about backing up games my son has the x box game cube and the playstation 2 he is olny 7 and i need something to back them up what is the cheapest way to do it and what software do i use please hellllllp!!!!!
     
  4. hursty

    hursty Active member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2004
    Messages:
    4,618
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    66
    didnt you see the post above yours????????????????
    download dvd decrypter (its free)yes FREE.
     
  5. casacasa

    casacasa Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    yes i did see that and have downloaded it sorry let me rephrase my question what do i need to play them on my machines i have heard something about chips and flip tops and such
     
  6. casacasa

    casacasa Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    i am all knew at this stuff so alot is foreign to me i dont understand what stuff like iso means and stuff like that i am reading alot of threads but not understanding alot please help
     
  7. dragulaAC

    dragulaAC Active member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2003
    Messages:
    1,062
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    For ps2, you can install a modchip that allows backups to be played normally. Usually involves soldering, so if you don't want to do that you can use a swap method like SwapMagic v3.3
    Using SwapMagic requires a special fliptop cover or use of a slidetool to swap the SwapMagic disc with your backup.
    This, site as more info on this than you will ever need.
     
  8. casacasa

    casacasa Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    thanks alot what is the cheapest way to go the mod chip or the flip top and how much is the swap magic ? is there a web site you can email me i would i appreciate it tnks again
     
  9. hursty

    hursty Active member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2004
    Messages:
    4,618
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    66
    www.swapmagic3.com
    www.techwizad.com (uk)
     
  10. dragulaAC

    dragulaAC Active member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2003
    Messages:
    1,062
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    SwapMagic is probably around 25-30 bucks usually and you'll get a dvd loading disc and a cd loading disc with it. Some sites sell SwapMagic bundled with a fliptop for your ps2 version or with a slidecard. I believe the fliptops are around 20 bucks or so.
    Fliptops are a little more expensive than than the slidecards, but once installed, it makes swapping easier than the slidetool method.

    One site you can atleast checkout to see what this stuff looks like and what it does would be:
    www.gocybershop.ca
    I'm not specifically saying to get it from there, but they have all of these items to take a look at.
     
  11. casacasa

    casacasa Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    thanks so much ill ck out the site
     
  12. casacasa

    casacasa Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    sorry again but i just want to make sure that i am getting this right and that i will not have to oder anthing elese i have a dvd burner and i have dvd decrypter and nero all i need now is a flip top and swap magic 3 right?
     
  13. casacasa

    casacasa Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    is anyone one there i am about to order is i was just woundering if there was anything else i need to order? i don't want to make a mistake please help just 1 more time pleazzzzzzz!!!!
     
  14. dragulaAC

    dragulaAC Active member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2003
    Messages:
    1,062
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    just make sure you get a compatible fliptop for your specific ps2 version. Like the fliptop for version 4-7 ps2's and there's one for versions 9-10 i think.

    That's all ya need, other than blank dvdr's and your ps2 games.
     
  15. casacasa

    casacasa Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    thanks again you have been lots of help !!!!!!!!
     
  16. casacasa

    casacasa Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    geezzz one more question i hope last one for today anyways what about swap magic 3 will it work with coping x box games and game cube games and what is hd advance 2 is swap better?
     
  17. sly_61019

    sly_61019 Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Messages:
    9,522
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    no, you can't play xbox or gamecube games on your ps2 no matter what. hd loader lets you put games on a hd you install in your ps2.
     
  18. casacasa

    casacasa Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    is there an x box flip top i caint seem to find one and what software do i have to use for the x box same about the game cube? i would like to order the x box flip top and software first seems like playstation fliptops are easier
     
  19. Icemonkey

    Icemonkey Active member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2003
    Messages:
    1,611
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    There are no flip-top covers for xbox. The swap trick does not work for booting backups. You have to use a modchip to boot xbox backups.
     
  20. casacasa

    casacasa Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    what about game cubes looks like you know alot about them ?and what about the spider no solder chip for the x box will that be all i need and what is a good site for them?
     

Share This Page