1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How to burn an image file to a double layer dvd?

Discussion in 'DVDR' started by Imacreep, Nov 10, 2007.

1. Imacreep

Imacreep Member

Hello, I am a newbie here in the forums. I have some knowledge of backing up dvds in a mac but I don't know much doing it in a PC. I went throug the guides, but I havent been able to locate a similar issue. How can I burn an image file from a movie DVD9 to a Double layer DVD+R.
    I tried to do it using Image Burn, 1Click DVD Copy Pro, but it didn't work. Actually same thing happens with regular dvd5 image files. After burning it does play in the computer but not in my stand alone dvd players. I wonder if is because I am using Windows Vista or my dvd burner is not working well.
    I tried to back up movies using a laptop with windows xp and using the same softwares mentioned early and I have more succes than in my desktop with vista. My PC is a Dell XPS 410. I would appreciate if someone helps.
    Thanks

2. IHoe

IHoe Senior member

this sounds like a media issue. here are some tips:
    there are plenty of reasons why certain dvds won't play in other players:

1. burning speeds: burn at 4x so there will be less writing errors (rule of thumb is to burn at half the rated speed of the disk--8X disk burn at 4x).
    2. read manual for your stand alone player and use the disks that will play in your player. If your player is less than 2 yrs old then it should play the + or - R disks! I said SHOULD that's why you read the manual.
    3. try booktyping your drive to DVd-ROM so it will make your +R disks more compatible to players. Read this:
    http://k-probe.com/bitsetting-booktype-faq.php
    4. make sure that there are no finger prints or scratches on your disk that make it hard for the player to read the disk!