1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How to change Gameboot.pmf

Discussion in 'Sony PSP - Mod and firmware discussion' started by 1OFDEM, Jun 2, 2007.

  1. 1OFDEM

    1OFDEM Regular member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Okay, this is how far I've gotten so far:

    1. I downloaded the Prince of Persia gameboot (the one with 3 bloody slashes) and put it in the root of my PSP.

    2. I downloaded PSPset and put it in the GAME150 folder, since it won't start up in the GAME folder.

    3. Started up my PSP, Game/Memory Stick/PSPset v0.9, pressed X

    4. highlighted "Change Gameboot" and pressed X. Then highlighted "Backup Gameboot". Nothing happens. Then, highlighted the option above it which says "Change Gameboot" and pressed X. Then, a row of "Copying Files" appears and rapidly scrolls down the screen. I click back, then quit.

    5. Now, I load up a game (Snes9xTYL 0.4.2me) and the gameboot didn't change at all. It's still showing the PSP logo with a white background.

    What did I do wrong? Any help is greatly appreciated!
     
  2. hodzic

    hodzic Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2007
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    idk i stil flash mine...i dont use psp set or whatever ur program is
     
  3. 1OFDEM

    1OFDEM Regular member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    So how do YOU change your gameboot, hodzic? Can you walk me through it?
     
  4. 1OFDEM

    1OFDEM Regular member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Alright I got rid of PSPset, it's just junk. Now I'm using X-Flash V18k. I copied the folders to the GAME150 folder of my PSP and put the gameboot in the modified folder. So, you'd think I'd be ready to go, right? But oh no! I disconnect my PSP from the computer, go to Game/Memory Stick/X-Flash (wierd music by the way) and, after it checks that I have my power cable connected, I get the blue screen of death with the following message:

    VERSION 2.71 OR 3.02 FIRMWARE DETECTED BUT
    THIS DOES NOT APPEAR TO BE AN ORIGINAL RELEASE
    OF A SUPPORTED Dark_Alex HYBRID FIRMWARE.
    IF YOU ARE USING 2.71 SE-A YOU SHOULD UPGRADE.
    X-FLASH WILL EXIT.

    So now what? Do I have to downgrade just to use this frikin thing? Oh please help me Invisible Man in the Sky!

     
  5. hodzic

    hodzic Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2007
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    i jus put the new gameboot in the flash0>vsh>resource
    then a box will pop up and click overwrite
    and thats that

    many people dont like this becuase they can semi-brick.......ive never had it happen to me personally
     
  6. staxx

    staxx Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Messages:
    817
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    just use the gameboot path modifier in my signature...once thats installed run the program it will do the flashing for you then all you have to do is place the gameboot you want to use on the root of your memory stick. Easy to switch when you want to use a diff gameboot cause all you have to do is delete the gameboot you put on there and drop the new one on there. easy as pie.
     
  7. 1OFDEM

    1OFDEM Regular member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Well, the program works fine, But I STILL can't load up the gameboot. Here's the part that gets me:

    Press CROSS to Modify gameboot.pmf path.
    If you have already modified, pressing CROSS
    will restore your original file automatically.


    So then I press X, and it gives me this message:

    Sorry, there is no opening_plugin.prx! Exiting...

    Exiting indeed. Why must every program taunt me! I just wanna load a new gameboot, that's all... :(

     
  8. 1OFDEM

    1OFDEM Regular member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    AHAHA!! I DID IT OH EM GEEEEE!!!!

    Ehem...

    I found the file i needed on another forum and put it in my root directory. Man, after such a long time of trying out so many programs I finally found the perfect (and least complicated) one. Staxx, you rock!
     
  9. road2ruin

    road2ruin Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hi. I am on version 3.40oe-a. I face the same problem with the prince of persia gameboot. Still shows the white screen thing. Can anyone help?
     
  10. staxx

    staxx Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Messages:
    817
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Use the program in my signature
     
  11. road2ruin

    road2ruin Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Thanks staxx! Worked like a charm! Cheers!
     
  12. lokote732

    lokote732 Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    i was doing that yesterday with xmb hacks and semi bricked my psp ...thank god i had 3.03oe-c back down to 1.50
     
  13. NKA

    NKA Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    my own custom made gameboots don't work...i do not know why this happens.i have a CF 303oe-c and i try changing my gameboots by going into the recovery mode/advanced/toggle usb(flash 0).only a few gameboots work that i have downloaded over the internet.any advice...
     
  14. road2ruin

    road2ruin Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hi. Try using the program under staxx's signature for "Want to put a custom Gameboot on your psp? Click Here" That doesn't involve flashing. It uses the gameboot.pmf from the memory stick. I have tested all my downloaded gameboots on my 3.40oe-a this way, and it all works! Try it and feedback here.
     

Share This Page