1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How to debrand a Nokia E71

Discussion in 'Nokia - All other topics' started by skipzoid, Aug 16, 2008.

  1. skipzoid

    skipzoid Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hello.
    I've finially got my E71 unlocked, now I want to debrand it.

    I read about the Nemesis & NSU method, but Nokia dont have the firmware on their site yet (Acording to another forum) so this at present doesnt work.

    Can anyone point me in the right direction of a usb flashing util and the nessasary firmware to debrand my E71.
  2. AfterDawn

    AfterDawn Advertisement

  3. tmcp

    tmcp Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hi, I am in the same situation. I was searching for two days about unlocking and debranding. About firmware I found something.

    Major Data Package
    RM-346 dp v 1.0 (MCU SW 100.07.76) for Europe
    Published 2008/07/04 429.0 MB
    File type -> Software
    Phones -> RM-346 (E71-1)

    --------------------

    Major Data Package
    RM-346 dp v 1.0 (MCU SW 100.07.79) for MEA
    Published 2008/07/03 101.3 MB
    File type -> Software
    Phones -> RM-346 (E71-1)

    I dont know if it helps in anything...

    About unlocking, how did you do it?!

    cheers
    Last edited: Aug 16, 2008
  4. skipzoid

    skipzoid Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    i've already got that version on my phone (Euro) which is why I'm tolf NSU won't currently do an upgrade/reflash.

    Acording to the Nokia Forums, there is talks about wanting a new firmware and bug fixes etc, so it might not be too long before that happends and then the NSU method should work.

    As fas as getting my handset unlocked from '3', that was a complete nightmare, over a week of arguing with the foriegn call center over poor telephone lines using very low bandwidth voip system, and because;

    My handset unbeknown to me had already been issued to someone else, then returned and then resealed and resold to me, when I asked for the unlock code then traced the IMEI back to someone else and without their authority to get the unlock code we where getting no-where, eventually I contacted the UK head office they sorted the issuing error out and the code was requested and issued, you'd think after all the upset they might just have for good will given the code!? - Nope they still demanded their £15 for it.

    '3' I think the name comes from the total number of people who actually know anything about customer service, as for the rest of them, Pah!!!! I'm glad I'm shot of them, I anyone wants to buy my 'gold' PAYG sim then its up for grabs, 'gold' as they call it because it has two repititions in the number..T-Mobile charge small fortunes for such numbers, its the old small piece of luck to come out of this.

  5. tmcp

    tmcp Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Thanks for you reply. As far as i know the customer service only ask for a mobile phone number or account number (my3). What did they ask you for?

    cheers
  6. skipzoid

    skipzoid Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Yeah they asked for the same, but also the IMEI number of the phone.

    Hopefully it wont be long before an offical firmware upgrade, and the NSU method will work,

    In the mean time, I'm surprised someone clever hasnt suggested a util that will via USB (same as NSU) reflash the phone ?, perhaps the clever people are all busy :)

  7. tmcp

    tmcp Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    there are people doing that...at leat in this forum! check JAF method
    Last edited: Aug 17, 2008
  8. tmcp

    tmcp Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    whats the diference in hardware between E71 from 3G UK and E71 from manufacturer unlocked?
  9. Jivet

    Jivet Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    How did you get it unlocked? 3 want to charge me my entire year contract upfront before they will give me my code.
  10. damndead

    damndead Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Its not possible to unlock Nokia E71 at this moment without the unlock code from your network (three, T-mobile etc). However, I was able to debrand my Nokia E71 by flashing it with Generic firmware.

    Step1

    Download the flashing software Phoenix:

    http://rapidshare.com/files/127260412/Phoenix_2008_20_9_34260_Patched.exe


    Step 2

    Download the Generic Nokia E71 firmware:

    RM-346_EURO_100.07.76_v1.0

    http://rapidshare.com/files/127286905/RM-346_EURO_100.07.76_v1.0.part1.rar
    http://rapidshare.com/files/127298938/RM-346_EURO_100.07.76_v1.0.part2.rar
    http://rapidshare.com/files/127310599/RM-346_EURO_100.07.76_v1.0.part3.rar
    http://rapidshare.com/files/127322849/RM-346_EURO_100.07.76_v1.0.part4.rar
    http://rapidshare.com/files/127335198/RM-346_EURO_100.07.76_v1.0.part5.rar


    Step 3:

    Flash the firmware to mobile using Phoenix. If you are not sure how then though I have not read myself but there is a guide availble on the internet on how to use Phoenix:

    http://www.4shared.com/file/51013479/a12c8744/Phoenix_Service_Software_flashing_guide.html

    Happy Flashing!
  11. Jivet

    Jivet Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Sooo....Long time listener....First time flasher.

    Do I need to unpack the .rar files into one file before flashing?
  12. Jivet

    Jivet Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Nevermind...please disregard that question. Figured it out:)
  13. jags1

    jags1 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    can i get these links updated plz they are all dead.cheers
  14. Skv012a

    Skv012a Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Any way to underclock the CPU through FW editing that we know of? I figured that 1-200 mhz might not hurt the functionality that much, but should boost the battery life substantially.

Share This Page