1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How to draging a dvd movie to my hard drive.

Discussion in 'Convert DVD to another format' started by ithica, Dec 16, 2004.

1. ithica

ithica Member

Topic.

first im a newbie

How is there a protection on the original.

if not how can i drag a movie in to my hard drive

tx

sorry for my english. im french.. :)

2. Weirdo007

Weirdo007 Regular member

Bon jour mon ami, welcome to AfterDawn. This site is awesome and has a lot of usefull information and people to assist you.

Most movies have a layer of protection known as "CSS" or "Content Scrambling System", usually placed onto the disc by the manufacturer or studio that made it, to prevent copying.

For the purpose of backing-up or archiving a copy of your original movie to your hard drive, another disc, or whatyever you choose, in case anything ever happens to it, (kid sits on it or chews on it, dog eats it... etc) it is necessary to decrypt the data contained on the disc.

For accomplishing this I suggest DVD Decrypter or DVD Shrink, both of which are available on this outstanding site. They come with some information on using them and as always, people are here to help you. I also recommend checking out the glossary of terms link at the top. Once again welcome to Afterdawn! :)

Last edited: Dec 16, 2004
  3. ithica

ithica Member

Thank a lot my friend.

does this program.

i have another question.

My dvd burner disk can only store 4.6g on a disk, how do you guys do to fit a movies that weight 7.6G

Probably compression. Does dvd shrink and decrypter do that.

Tx :)

4. Weirdo007

Weirdo007 Regular member