1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

how to find out what chip i have

Discussion in 'PS2 - Hardware boot discussion' started by sick_unit, Sep 7, 2004.

  1. sick_unit

    sick_unit Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    hey im new to all this ps2 chip stuff even though i have had my chip for years, but i want to know how do i find out wat my ps2 chip is called.


    thanks
     
  2. jonjakjam

    jonjakjam Regular member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Messages:
    808
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    how do you boot your cd/dvd backups.
     
  3. penguin77

    penguin77 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2004
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    if u tell us how u boot ure ps1 games and how u turn off ure modchip we'll know
     
  4. sick_unit

    sick_unit Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    well when i play a ps2 game i just put the game in then tap the restart button on the console and then it works but somethimes when i play a dvd movie and then play a game and do what i said above it sometimes says inserts ps2 disc and i have 2 do it a while for it to work.

    i dont play ps1 games anymore but i turn it off by just holding the resart button. (hopefully im answering ur question right)


    i hope thats enough info 4 u guys 2 tell me wat chip i have if not just ask me another question and ill answer it.


    thanks a lot guys
     
  5. jonjakjam

    jonjakjam Regular member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Messages:
    808
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    how do you BOOT your ps1 backups? can you boot PS2 dvd backups?
     
  6. sick_unit

    sick_unit Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    the way i told you is how i boot my ps2 backups. i just tried to boot up a ps1 burnt game and i didnt load, it said insert ps1 or ps2 disc
     
  7. matty8887

    matty8887 Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2004
    Messages:
    774
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    You could well have a magic 2 or messiah chip.
    These are a few years old and as you dont require a swap method they seem to be 2 of your choices of what chip you have.
     
  8. sick_unit

    sick_unit Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    yeh i have had my chip for about 2-3 years now. if i open my ps2 will it say exaclty what kinda chip i have cos ive seen on a site, instructions on how to boot up a ps2 game or dvd movie cos i sometimes have trouble tring to find the rite mode. i cant remember da site but i do remember that i found it in this forum
     
  9. matty8887

    matty8887 Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2004
    Messages:
    774
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    If you open it up and look at what chip you have you can compare it to pics on the internet and see which chip you have.
     
  10. sick_unit

    sick_unit Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    wat site has pics of different chips???
     

Share This Page