1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

how to flash a box

Discussion in 'Digital TV - UK & Europe' started by mocall, Nov 21, 2007.

  1. mocall

    mocall Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2007
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I have a box that will not react ti 1570 and does noy show my cable supplier . what i sflashing and how is it done please
     
  2. sc0user

    sc0user Active member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    13,111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    Is it a Starview 1 or a Starview 2 called "The Box"? Also press menu, then system info and post what it says.
     
    Last edited: Nov 21, 2007
  3. mocall

    mocall Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2007
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Out earnn a crust at the mo. will check later and post info.
    is this flashing a major job.
     
  4. sc0user

    sc0user Active member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    13,111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    Not really if you have all the info.
     
  5. mocall

    mocall Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2007
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    The info is
    API ver 2.60
    Boot Ver 7
    9 Apr 07
     
  6. Celtic71

    Celtic71 Active member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
    Messages:
    5,948
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    I guess you have "THE B0X"

    You will need to flash it because you cannot access the secret menu with 2.60 installed



    You will need a null modem cable DB9F to DB9F.

    Null modem info
    http://www.maplin.co.uk/Search.aspx?criteria=L71BT&DOY=2m6

    If your pc does not have a serial port you will need a USB to serial port adapter to use in conjunction with the null modem cable.

    USB Adapter info

    http://www.maplin.co.uk/Module.aspx...t10&doy=search&MenuName=USB to Serial Adaptor

    These two cable links are only for reference as they can be purchased alot cheaper on fleabay.

    All firmware/loader can be found in the link at the end of my post marked Eamos Library.

    You will need the GTromloader, (Starview Software Uploader), found in the Starview software folder of the link.

    You will need version 4.50 firmware for IRELAND found in "THE B0X" firmware folder.
    You will need version 4.51 firmware for UK found in "THE B0X" firmware folder.

    And please download the Starview PDF guide,(similar instructions, this will give you step by step instructions on how to do everything.This can be found in the Starview Documentation folder in the link.
     
  7. mocall

    mocall Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2007
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Thanks a lot
    I have downloaded all that info and will get the cable asap
    lets hope it works. this forum is bril .
     
  8. sc0user

    sc0user Active member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    13,111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    Celt to the rescue :)
     
  9. mocall

    mocall Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2007
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    There is a bottle of your fav brew for scouser and the Celt if it works
     
  10. Celtic71

    Celtic71 Active member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
    Messages:
    5,948
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    It will work :) and if it doesn't I will buy you a brew lol
     
  11. mocall

    mocall Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2007
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Yipeeeee it worked. you are the biz . big thanks to celt and scouse.
    I will stay on site for anyone in similar merde.
    one last thing how do i get the few channels that have not shown eg liverpool fc.
    Thanks again it has been a lonf wek with flak from kids. i have cred for at least a week
     
  12. mocall

    mocall Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2007
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Sorry that should have said long week. I should not have started the celebrations so early
     
  13. chip7

    chip7 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    i have an old n** digi box. just wonderindg can these be flashed with eurovox software? and used as eurovox?
     
  14. Celtic71

    Celtic71 Active member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
    Messages:
    5,948
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96


    What area are you in and what provider are you using ?
     
  15. Celtic71

    Celtic71 Active member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
    Messages:
    5,948
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    Deffo NO
     
  16. mocall

    mocall Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2007
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I am in Cork . . .supplier is C****s
     
  17. Celtic71

    Celtic71 Active member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
    Messages:
    5,948
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    Im not too sure if that channel is available on Chor*s , I will find out for you and see can I locate what freq it is on :)
     

Share This Page