1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How to get DVD-Decrypter to copy faster

Discussion in 'DVDR' started by AccordTG1, Sep 12, 2004.

  1. AccordTG1

    AccordTG1 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I have a DVD Pioneer burner but when I try and copy the movie onto my HDD it takes about an hour. I heard that it should only take 20-30 mins. Does anyone know what settings I can change to make it copy faster. I been trying to change them but so far it still burns at fastest 1.8x. Please help.

    Jay
     
  2. flip218

    flip218 Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2004
    Messages:
    8,344
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    check your ide settings ... make sure they are set to DMA
     
  3. Doc409

    Doc409 Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2003
    Messages:
    1,222
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    In addition to flip218's advice...

    In DVD Decrypter, go to Tools >> Settings >> Device >> Options. Make sure the read speed is set to Max.

    You may also need a firmware upgrade for your burner. If it is new, this is almost a certainty. You should be decrypting in about 20 minutes, so your times are on the long side of things.



     
    Last edited: Sep 12, 2004
  4. AccordTG1

    AccordTG1 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Thanks,... I upgraded the firmware and changed the settings. Hope it works. Please let me know if there is anything else I should do. Thanks

    Jay
     
    Last edited: Sep 12, 2004
  5. Jerry746

    Jerry746 Senior member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2003
    Messages:
    4,456
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    The location of your burner drive on the IDE chain may make a difference. Burner drive should be set to MASTER on the secondary IDE cable.

    Jerry
     
  6. AccordTG1

    AccordTG1 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    hey,...i did all the changes as specified. The decrptyer starts out copying at 1.9x and then drops down to 1.4x. I did this several times already. Not sure whats going on. I did the changes to the settings, verified the IDE cables, everything up till this message. Thanks for the help and advice from everyone. If there is anything else I should be doing, please let me know. Thank you

    Jay
     
  7. flip218

    flip218 Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2004
    Messages:
    8,344
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Did you make sure your ide is set to DMA?

    I've re-read your first post ... Are you asking about ripping or burning?
    _X_X_X_X_X_[small]Dell 8250, Pentium 4 2.80GHz
    1.5 GB RDRAM, 700GB HD
    NEC 2510A, Sony DDU-1612 DVD-ROM
    XP Pro SP2, ATI All-In-Wonder 9000 Pro[/small]
     
    Last edited: Sep 12, 2004
  8. AccordTG1

    AccordTG1 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hey, Yeah the IDE is set to "DMA if available". My problem is ripping the movie onto my HDD with DVD dycrypter. Kinda lost now since I have done all the changes but no results. My DVD burner is Pioneer DVR-A07XLA if that helps in any hints or clues. Thanks for all the Help.

    Jay
     
  9. flip218

    flip218 Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2004
    Messages:
    8,344
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    It may be because your using your burner to rip, most burners have a slower rip speed that dvd-roms.

    You could look for a hack firmware to unlock your drives ripping speed.
     
  10. AccordTG1

    AccordTG1 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hey, so it would be better if I used a regular DVD rom to rip the movie onto my HDD?
     
  11. Nephilim

    Nephilim Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2003
    Messages:
    14,942
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Are you using an 80 pin cable?
     
  12. AccordTG1

    AccordTG1 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Yeah, Im using an 80 pin cable.
     
  13. Zenwarior

    Zenwarior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Try ripping with Shrink and then set shrink to burn use decrypter.
    That is a great combo.
    Shrink takes 1/2 hr and Decrypter takes 13 minutes using a 4x DVD.
    Shrink can be downloaded from this site for free.

     
  14. LIGHT_UK

    LIGHT_UK Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2002
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Delete your IDE controller from within Device Manager and then reboot.

    Just checking the DMA options is not enough.

    That'll sort out your ripping / writing speeds.

    Then you just need to get the hacked firmware from www.rpc1.org so that your drive isnt locked to a slow speed when ripping CSS protected media.
     
  15. Jerry746

    Jerry746 Senior member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2003
    Messages:
    4,456
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    AccordTG1, If you have a dvd rom, yes rip with it. Pioneer drives are almost always locked at a max of 2x rip speed. You have to use the hacked firmware mentioned before to unlock it. My 106D went from 2x to 12x rip speed with the hacked firmware. Thats the kind of improvement you can get. But if you have the rom, use it.

    Jerry
     
  16. AccordTG1

    AccordTG1 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    i went to the website to check out the hacked firmware. The only one i found was "DVR-107XL v1.16 - RPC-1 + 12xRip + nx4all." Is this the one that i should use to unlock the drive's ripping speed. I have a Pioneer DVR-107XLA (it said it would work for both A and B). I just tried to save it and when i went to extract it there are two files unknown files. What am I suppose to do after this? How am I suppose to install it or use the hacked firmware? Please help. Thanks everyone.
     
    Last edited: Sep 13, 2004

Share This Page