1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How To Get The Most Out Of Overnet

Discussion in 'Windows - P2P software' started by IMRANmel, Sep 30, 2003.

  1. IMRANmel

    IMRANmel Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2003
    Messages:
    352
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Overnet is a File Sharing program. This means that it will give you the opportunity to share files you have on your computer with other users on the network, and you will in turn be able to download files of them.

    There are a lot of file sharing programs out there, Overnet is a little different from each of them (we like to think a little better). Unlike several programs (most notably the now defunct napster) Overnet does not have servers at all. It is a complete Peer to Peer network where all clients connect directly to each other.

    Overnet is also smart enough to tell the difference between two files, even if they have the same file size and name, this has two advantages, firstly it ensures that unique files are properly presented, and secondly, that when several identical files are found Overnet can download from those independent sources at the same time, making your downloads faster! This unique file identification also allows you to create links to the files you have, sending them to friends or family, or put them on your website, so users who have Overnet installed as well can download that exact same file from your, or any other user who has it!

    Overnet also has a strong user community, with users from around the world participating in chats and forums (both in the official forums here and elsewhere).

    All of these little things and more add up to make Overnet one truly unique program.
    It is using the same file and link format like the eDonkey, so that you can reuse even started downloads from it.

    The three key things that you can do to ensure you are getting the highest transfer speeds possible, ensure you are receiving Open Status, download popular files, and configure your client.

    Open Status : Your Status is shown in the status bar at the very bottom of the screen, it should read {ON Connected} OPEN. That last bit is important, it should read Open, if it reads Unclear, your client is still connecting wait a few moments. If it reads Firewalled, something is blocking your connection, which will prevent you from achieving optimal speeds.

    Download Popular Files: Because Overnet uses a distributed file part acquisition system, the more possible sources for the same file, the faster the file can transfer. Though be wary of incomplete files

    Configure Your Client: The information in your Options -> Network is important.
    ((To see which ports Overnet is using:
    In the Graphical Client -> Select Options, Networking.
    The TCP and UDP ports are listed there
    In the Command Line Client -> enter vo and press enter. The TCP and UDP ports will be listed.

    Additionally, the program will take TCP ports assigned by your operating system when it begins new outgoing transfers. ))

    Setting proper max transfer speeds is usefull not only to keep your connection running smoothly for other programs, but to help Overnet as well. Set your max transfer speed to 80%-90% of your true max upload speed. A similar percentage of download speed for your max download speed. Max Linespeed down should be your maximum download speed overall. If you notice a lot of 'Unasked' clients in your download view (common when downloading many popular files) try increasing your Max Connections value.

    Use Them: Now what good is having all this speed if you cant use the files you're downloading? Take a look at this page on file types, that document also contains information on how to preview different files, a good idea to ensure it hasn't been misnamed.

    Be Aware: While downloading files, keep tabs on how they are doing, take a look back every once and a while at your downloads. Keep a mental tab on which files you have seen completely (as in the bar is completely blue, no red stripes). Seeing a file with a red stripe beside a dark blue stripe is generally a bad sign, you may want to keep a close eye for a while, if you never see that red section turn blue, you may want to give up and cancel the download. Future advancements are planned for monitoring this type of procedure, but thus far, just be aware.

    Beware of Incomplete Files: After giving a download a while to generate sources, take a look at the progress bar, dark blue sitting beside a red area can be a bad side. When viewing the bar beside the sources, seeing a long red stripe through all the sources is a horrible sign. Especially when many clients have the entire file except that piece. This may mean that the file was never completely shared on the network, and that the original source has not returned to continue sharing.

     
    Last edited: Sep 30, 2003
  2. Praetor

    Praetor Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003
    Messages:
    6,927
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Indeed... the usual reason however is that your UDP port has been firewalled or otherwise blocked. A simple change of ports should fix that.

    Regarding the config's... leaving download/upload to 0 (for machine limit) should be fine for most people on DSL/CABLE or better. And the more connections you have the better; it defaults to 45 or something like that... ramp that waaaaaaaaay up. Odds are you will never have that many simultaneous connections but you never know! For instance, I have mine at 800 even though Ive never used more than 400 simultaneously... it's more like a 'just in case'

    Other than that... awesome intro to the great Onet! :)
     
  3. Dela

    Dela Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2002
    Messages:
    8,949
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Nice work UK, now all we need is some pics :d and if u get some id be more than happy to upload them for ya!
     
  4. matari

    matari Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2003
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    hey, thanks for those descriptions of what to do. they are the best ones i could find. but i still dont understand what you mean by
    "In the Command Line Client -> enter vo and press enter. The TCP and UDP ports will be listed."
    cause i have a router(linksys cable router) and i dont have any idea how to change the firewalls on it, or open ports...whatever the terms are...any of you guys have any ideas?
    anything will help. thanks guys.
     
  5. Praetor

    Praetor Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003
    Messages:
    6,927
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    116
    1. Dont use the command line client unless you already know what you are doing... you will save yourself plenty of stress that way
    2. With a linksys router you need to goto http://192.168.1.1 or something like that which is your router's 'page' where you can config all the fancy little features. Goto the 'Advanced' section and if i remember correctly, something like 'port forwarding' or to that nature. Simply punch in the two ports (the tcp one dont matter as much as the udp one) and forward those two ports to the computer that will be using Overnet. Alternatively you can just do Advanced --> DMZ and set that computer as the DMZ Host (which *isnt* reccommended unless you know what you are doing)._X_X_X_X_X_[small]ASUS A7V8X-X, AMD2500+
    Samsung 1024MB, PC2700
    360GB [3x120GB, 7200, 8MB]
    MSI Starforce, GeForce4 Ti4400 128MB

    AFTERDAWN IRC: irc.emule-project.net, #ad_buddies
    COME SAY HI![/small]
     
    Last edited: Oct 12, 2003
  6. matari

    matari Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2003
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    thanks man
     
  7. Praetor

    Praetor Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003
    Messages:
    6,927
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Not a problem. :)
     
  8. DaOsT

    DaOsT Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2003
    Messages:
    709
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Praetor I have had overnet for about 3 weeks now and stumbled on this thread today .......I have mesed with norton for over an hour tonite to try and get firewalled from the bottom left hand corner but so far with no success .....TCP PORT....UDP PORT ...I honestly have no ideas what they are

    I can only alter http ports on norton I think ......any ideas how I can make the firewalled go from the bottom left of overnet by suggesting a port that would work??

    DaOsT
     
  9. Praetor

    Praetor Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003
    Messages:
    6,927
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Well you dont need to mess with the HTTP ports but rather you need to set the TCP and UDP ports as specified by Overnet. Usually TCP is 4662 and UDP is some 6xxx or 12xxx but could be anything.

    Open up Overnet, click Options --> Network at the bottom you will see the ports you need to free up.

    Also, if you have a router you are gonna have to set the forwaring/virtual server settings there too.
     
  10. Weycraze

    Weycraze Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2004
    Messages:
    414
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Can this sticky go?, it's a little outdated.

    Weycraze

     

Share This Page