1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How to install Fedora 8 on PS3

Discussion in 'PS3 - Modding & Hacking' started by CKhaleel, Jan 31, 2008.

  1. CKhaleel

    CKhaleel Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,669
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Woo! It's out! Fedora 8 for PS3!

    *A SPECIAL NOTE: If you have FW 2.10+, there will be slight problems with the kboot (Screen flashes on and off sometimes).




    REQUIRMENTS:


    The Fedora 8 PPC image (Direct Download link: http://mirror.anl.gov/pub/fedora/linux/releases/8/Fedora/ppc/iso/Fedora-8-ppc-DVD.iso

    BitTorrent Link: http://torrent.fedoraproject.org/torrents/Fedora-8-dvd-ppc.torrent ).

    The KBoot: http://www.sendspace.com/file/4hw38q

    Storage Media to put the KBoot in (i.e. Memory Stick, Flash Drive, iPod (Yes!!!)), etc.

    USB Keyboard and Mouse

    Ethernet Broadband Connection (WiFi is too complex to get working)

    A Brain.



    1. Take your storage media, and create a folder called 'PS3' (w/o the quotes) on the root of it. (X:/) Then, within the PS3 folder, create an 'otheros' folder (w/o the quotes), and place the otheros.bld file there.


    2. Connect your storage media to your PS3. Go to Settings>System Settings>Format Utility. From there, choose 'Format Hard Disk'. Make sure you allot 10GB to OtherOS. Do a quick format.


    3. Restart. Then. go to Setting>System Settings>Install Other OS. It will then scan your storage media for the KBoot. Install it. Then, go to 'Default System' and choose OtherOS.


    4. Restart. Assuming you had a USB Keyboard and mouse connected, and the Fedora 8 DVD in prior to the reboot, the KBoot will show all kinds of text. When it stops to 'kboot' and a blinking cursor, type (w.o quotes), 'linux64 text xdriver=fbdev'. Hit enter.


    5. The installation wizard is starting... you get these questions:
    Media check -> Choose: 'Skip' or 'OK', as you wish.
    Welcome to Fedora -> Choose OK
    Language Selection -> Choose your Language (e.g. English)
    Keyboard Selection -> Choose your keyboard layout (e.g. us)
    Partitioning Type -> Select 'Create custom layout. (select ps3da, 44940MB)

    Now, create three partitions:

    Mount point: Filesystem Type: Size:

    /boot ext3 196MB
    swap 512MB
    / ext3 'Fill all available space


    5. Review the layout, and proceed with OK
    Question about low memory, and enable swap? Choose 'Yes'
    Ethernet configuration:
    Configure eth0 ? -> yes
    Activate on boot -> yes
    Settings: (just as an example, depends on your local network)
    Enable IPv4 support -> e.g. yes
    IPv4 configuration -> DHCP
    Hostname configuration -> manually -> ps3
    Time zone selection -> System clock uses UTC
    Zone Selection -> e.g. Europe/Amsterdam
    Root password -> <imagine-something-yourself>
    Package selection -> leave default, we customize later.
    Installation to begin -> Press 'ok'


    6. Find something to do for 65 minutes.


    7. Once done, reboot. Once you reboot, you'll get the message: 'Cannot boot system after installation on a PlayStation 3'. Don't freak out.

    Put back the Installation CD in the PS3 and press CTRL-ALT-DEL to reboot.

    At KBoot, type 'linux rescue'.

    Next, you will get these questions:

    Language Selection -> Choose your Language
    Keyboard Selection -> Choose your keyboard layout (ex. US)
    Network Configuration -> not necessary
    Rescue screen -> Choose Continue...



    8. On the command prompt, perform these actions:

    sed s@'append="rhgb quiet root=LABEL=/"'@'append="video=ps3fb:mode:138 rhgb quiet

    root=/dev/ps3da3"'@ /mnt/sysimage/boot/yaboot/yaboot.conf

    > /mnt/sysimage/boot/yaboot/yaboot.conf.new



    The videomode value to select depends on the type of screen you are using.

    YUV 60Hz 1:480i 2:480p 3:720p 4:1080i 5:1080p
    YUV 50Hz 6:576i 7:576p 8:720p 9:1080i 10:1080p
    RGB 60Hz 33:480i 34:480p 35:720p 36:1080i 37:1080p
    RGB 50Hz 38:576i 39:576p 40:720p 41:1080i 42:1080p
    VESA 11:WXGA 12:SXGA 13:WUXGA

    0:auto mode, full screen mode: <video mode ID> + 128, dither ON mode : <video mode ID> + 2048
    (138 is thus: 1080p Full Screen PAL mode, 50Hz.)


    Now type:

    mv -f /mnt/sysimage/boot/yaboot/yaboot.conf{.new,}

    Hit enter.

    Then type:


    cp /mnt/sysimage/boot/yaboot/yaboot.conf /mnt/sysimage/boot/etc/yaboot.conf

    Hit Enter.



    9. Remove the Fedora DVD, Type 'exit', and the system reboots...(if the system hangs on shutdown, flip the switch).

    System is now booting from harddisk...

    After a while, we get a text installation menu, configure here what is needed.

    Once we have a login prompt, we can login either locally, or remote through SSH. Because of the screen blanking bug, I prefer to login through SSH from another Linux-box (or if you are on Windows: for example Putty.exe).


    10. login as 'root' First update the system to the latest updates by typing yum -y upgrade.

    If you like to start in GUI mode instead of text mode, the following line in /etc/inittab file has to be modified:

    sed s@'id:3:initdefault:'@'id:5:initdefault:'@ /etc/inittab > /etc/inittab.new

    Hit enter.

    Then type:

    mv -f /etc/inittab{.new,}


    Hit enter,


    After changing this line, do another reboot, and the firstboot procedure is automatically started.



    11. The original Fedora 8 kernel is quite big and, due to Fedora nature, universal.
    The stock Fedora 8 kernel also has a bug in it so that the screen is blanking from time to time.
    So, we build an updated kernel with a minimal set of elements.

    The following steps need to be taken to build a new, smaller, kernel for Fedora 8:

    Install the GCC compiler toolchain and other development tools with
    yum groupinstall "Development Tools"
    Install git tooling and another required package with:

    yum install git ncurses-devel
    Make as normal user a build directory on the target, and change the current directory to it.
    mkdir -p ~/ps3_build && cd ~/ps3_build
    Download, compile and install the dtc tool (Device Tree Compiler)
    git clone git://www.jdl.com/software/dtc.git dtc
    cd dtc
    make
    su (Switch to root user)
    cp dtc /usr/bin/
    exit

    Download and extract the kernel sources at the proper location
    cd ~/ps3_build/
    wget http://www.kernel.org/pub/linux/ker...71220-ADDON/src/linux-2.6.23-20071219.tar.bz2
    tar xjf linux-2.6.23-20071219.tar.bz2
    cd linux-2.6.23-20071219
    wget http://www.bohmer.net/ps3_stuff/smallkernel.config -O ./.config
    sed s@'EXTRAVERSION ='@'EXTRAVERSION = -20071219'@ Makefile > Makefile.new
    mv -f Makefile{.new,}
    make oldconfig
    make menuconfig (only if you need to do some special changes for your own needs)
    make -j2
    su (Switch to root user)
    make modules_install && make install
    cp .config /boot/config-2.6.23-20071219

    exit
    Adapt the bootloader startup files by adding the new installed kernel. Execute all these commands:
    su (Switch to root user)
    echo "default=custom" > /boot/etc/yaboot.conf.new
    cat /boot/etc/yaboot.conf >> /boot/etc/yaboot.conf.new
    cat >> /boot/etc/yaboot.conf.new << EOF
    >
    > image=/vmlinux-2.6.23-20071219
    > label=custom
    > read-only
    > initrd=/initrd-2.6.23-20071219.img
    > append="video=ps3fb:mode:138 rhgb quiet root=/dev/ps3da3"
    >
    > EOF
    mv -f /boot/etc/yaboot.conf{.new,}
    cp -f /boot/etc/yaboot.conf /boot/yaboot/yaboot.conf

    exit
    Reboot the system and we are done!




    Thank God I don't have to go through all that.
     
  2. CKhaleel

    CKhaleel Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,669
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Comments and Q's are welcome :)
     
  3. armorthis

    armorthis Guest

    What is fedora 8 and wtf does it do?
     
  4. marcusita

    marcusita Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    Messages:
    1,400
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Linux its an Operating System simillar to Windows.
     
  5. pomp3y

    pomp3y Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26

    dose all this def work im not going though all that just to format the harddrive again it just seems like a lot of shit to do to get it to run lol
     
  6. Ryu77

    Ryu77 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2005
    Messages:
    957
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    pomp3y, why would you quote the whole guide again?

    Sorry that's just one of my annoyances... Like when people are talking to each other and they quote the whole conversation each time and with each post the quotes get bigger and bigger.

    Don't you really only need to quote their last post? Well, that's my thoughts anyway. :p
     
  7. pomp3y

    pomp3y Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    yeah ok i see your piont sorry for that do you know where i can get the kboot loader for this the one it gives ya dont work
     
  8. confuzion

    confuzion Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    im having problems installing fedora 5 and/or 8. when i try 8 it says cannot find linux64 when i try to type it in kboot. fedora is suppose to be like 3 gigs but when i download it it completes at 100megs, and fedora 5 completes at 40 megs so im guessing thats the reason theres a error somewhere? i downloaded Fedora-8-ppc-DVD.iso straight from fedoras site is there other files im missing?

    side note when i burn it do i just drop the Fedora-8-ppc-DVD.iso on the disk or do i open the iso and then place all files on disk? i tried both ways and still nothing
     
  9. confuzion

    confuzion Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    well i just checked the torrent file and its the correct 3 gigs so ima try that and see how it goes, to bad im on dialup this is gonna take about 3 weeks haha
     
  10. molockian

    molockian Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    ok I understand what Linux is but what could I do on it that I couldnt do with the reg OS? emulators or anything cool like that?
     
  11. confuzion

    confuzion Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    from what ive read on other forumns yes u can use emulators as well as watch diff types of video formats, run mozilla firefox and more. also turn games into iso files and back them up in another words save games/movies to the hd.

    u can do the same thing with megabox supposenly but once i got that installed there was nothign i could do with it as it ran off disc
     
  12. molockian

    molockian Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    honestly I think megabox is fake/ never going to be fully released and there trying to charge money for it even though its based on linux- but back on subject linux on ps3 sounds good im bout to make my buddy put it on his ps3
     
  13. tkof

    tkof Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I need some help with fedora,

    I'm new on fedora I did every thing and installed it ok.

    But i could not used the screen resolution 720p, when I change the setting to 720p the screen desapear.

    I have sony bravia TV that can supprt up to 1080p.

    Pls can any body help me on that.

    Thanks.
     
  14. confuzion

    confuzion Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    i dont know much about the high def stuff, did you buy the high def cables for the ps3? other then that im not sure
     
  15. tkof

    tkof Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I'm using HMDI connection.

    And when I play Games or on the PS3 menu it's working fine as 1080p but when I swich to other os once the ps3 start it's starts as 576 and it stays like that.

    when I change it by using "ps3videomode" if I in graphic mode can not see any thing the picture become some and there is alot of lines but when I'm not in graphic mode and change it it's ok.
     
  16. sonofugly

    sonofugly Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    First time ever installing Linux(or any other OS) on anything

    i got as far as
    8. On the command prompt, perform these actions:

    sed s@'append="rhgb quiet root=LABEL=/"'@'append="video=ps3fb:mode:138 rhgb quiet

    root=/dev/ps3da3"'@ /mnt/sysimage/boot/yaboot/yaboot.conf

    > /mnt/sysimage/boot/yaboot/yaboot.conf.new

    but it wont let me go past, ive tried many different ways. can someone tell me when to line break and what i should see after i hit enter?

    thanks
     
  17. chrisperg

    chrisperg Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11

    First time ever installing Linux(or any other OS) on anything

    i got as far as
    8. On the command prompt, perform these actions:

    sed s@'append="rhgb quiet root=LABEL=/"'@'append="video=ps3fb:mode:138 rhgb quiet

    root=/dev/ps3da3"'@ /mnt/sysimage/boot/yaboot/yaboot.conf

    > /mnt/sysimage/boot/yaboot/yaboot.conf.new

    but it wont let me go past, ive tried many different ways. can someone tell me when to line break and what i should see after i hit enter?

    thanks



    im having the same exact problom u are having
     
  18. AROAH

    AROAH Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Can I still use the console to play games after I do this?
     
  19. CKhaleel

    CKhaleel Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,669
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
  20. usjbroly

    usjbroly Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    do i need a high-def tv for this? i have a rather 'normal' one. not widescreen, or anytying like that, large though.
     

Share This Page