1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How to make your own Memory Card Exploit using the Independence Installer

Discussion in 'User submitted guides' started by L-Burna, Sep 17, 2004.

  1. SuperXL

    SuperXL Regular member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2005
    Messages:
    353
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    the point was not to explain the details of how the exploit works. just how to boot the cd to start exploiting. once again, look into doing the FMCB exploit. it's much better now, and you dont have to worry about the details of how the exploit is done. just do it.
     
  2. tmh5587

    tmh5587 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2007
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I completely understand that the point was not to tell him/her how the exploit works just how to do the exploit but i have been doing modding for around 4 years now and have worked on everything from a sega dream casts to xbox and ps2s. I don't think that people need to know how an exploit works to get it installed or working but i think that they should at least know the background of it and why it works so they have a better appreciation of the time it took to find the information and also to help when new systems come out. These kind of things are what keep the modding community going and i by no means completely understand how all of this works but i do understand the portions of the modding that i do and how it works. I helped to make home brewed apps for the xbox and i have made a few configurations for Ps2 programs.

    As of now im making a 5 disk changer for the original xbox as well as making everything from the SMS media center to the super Nintendo emulator to run off of the HD of a PS2. I don't think these are a prevalent as the mods them selves but they are fun projects.
     
  3. SuperXL

    SuperXL Regular member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2005
    Messages:
    353
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    if you say so.
     
  4. fredted40

    fredted40 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    soz, found the answer
     
    Last edited: Jan 2, 2009
  5. onehanded

    onehanded Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2008
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Hi everyone.
    I used to do these consoles a long time ago,butI only ever did the black ps2,and not the silver ones.
    I have in front of me a silver pal SCPH-5003 model
    I have used the independance compiler 5.0 before now with no issues.
    Can anyone confirm how I could get the ps1 game to trigger the exploit for which I had put on the memory card.
    Title db SCES-00008 DESTRUCTION DERBY
    Loader ulaunch elf file V4.42a
    Files Cogswap elf
    hdloader elf
    Free mc boot elf
    Region Pal bedata
    Dummy file 100mb
    No launch elf config
    Memory card as xps
    I used action replay max with a usb dongle formatted to fat 32
    Any help would be appreciated.
    I just want to know if it is this particular model that there are issues with,or am I missing something as I have not done one of the consoles for over 3 years now.
    Thanks in advance
     
  6. smokyrain

    smokyrain Senior member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,207
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    118
    It should work on the Silver Fat as well

    The only thing I can think of is if your using Action Replay Max, then you need to use PS2SaveBuilder to change the .xps to .max so the Action Replay Max can see the file

    i myself prefer to follow the PS2 Exploit guide found here

    http://www.sksapps.com/index.php?page=tutorials.html
     
  7. onehanded

    onehanded Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2008
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Yes
    What I did was get the disks number sces-00008 from the actual disk without putting the disk in the pc dvd drive.
    Everytime I tried to get the game id,it came up with a runtime error on the pc so I just read it from the top of the disk.
    I also did the same with 5 other games and added them to the title database.
    Action replay max read the file even if I typed it it as Your System Configuration,but still came up iscentral.
    What happens is I put the ps1 game in and reboot the console with just the memory card and the ps1 disk in.
    The game just automatically starts.
    I read somewhere else that the later ps2 consoles could not do the exploit,but I did not want to waste more time on it and I would get the black console instead.
    What actually stopped me from doing the ps2 consoles was the fact that I had short circuited one of the drives on the edge of my tower accidentally when transferring games from my p.c
    Appreciate your help though
     
  8. smokyrain

    smokyrain Senior member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,207
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Your PS2 being SCPH-50003 is a V9 or V10 PAL, so it can do the exploit

    Make sure your PS1 title db is named properly, for example as SLUS_111.11 format

    And that in the exploit you chose the proper region for your exploit - BEDATA-SYSTEM

    Also as I say the memory card save should be .max and then you would uncrush it too your PS2 memory card.

    Once you reboot with PS1 Trigger disc in , uLe should load
     
  9. onehanded

    onehanded Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2008
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Hi mate.
    Sorry for the delay in responding.
    A bit pea-assed last night.
    Anyway,thankyou for the last message.
    I did what you written on the last message and it turned out that I written the title number down wrong.
    I put it as sces-000080
    Its been a long time.
    Anyway I did it as you written it but with my ps1 game and it worked.
    Appreciate your help in refreshing my head on this one.
    Many thanks again for your help.
    Hopefully this will help other people also.
     
  10. onehanded

    onehanded Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2008
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Hi again smokeyrain
    I don't suppose you know what you rename your external usb drive to so that the ps2 can recognise it.
    I have a seagate 1tb which is about half full of ps3 games but I don't want to lose them.
    Any ideas?
     
  11. onehanded

    onehanded Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2008
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Hi again smokeyrain
    I don't suppose you know what you rename your external usb drive to so that the ps2 can recognise it.
    I have a seagate 1tb which is about half full of ps3 games but I don't want to lose them.
    Any ideas?
     
  12. smokyrain

    smokyrain Senior member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,207
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Hey glad you got your exploit working

    Now for external USB, the PS2 will recognize it depending upon what software you are running on the PS2.

    For example, if using OPL v.8 (Open PS2 Loader) to play games off the hdd. This is much better than USB Advance

    The games need to be installed using USBUtility v2

    And the SMS media Player will recognize as well

    The PS2 by itself does not see a USB drive

    YOu can find these apps here

    http://psx-scene.com/forums/ps2-homebrew-dev-emu-scene/

    http://psx-scene.com/forums/f100/usbutil-iseko-59785/

    If I were you now that you installed the exploit, I would then install fmcb 1.8b to memory card

    Then you can just boot with memory card only, and no need for PS1 disc

    Just follow the tutorial from - Run Exploit

    http://bootleg.sksapps.com/tutorials/fmcb/armax2.php

    You just need the fmcb install files on your USB drive
     
  13. onehanded

    onehanded Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2008
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    What do you mean by the install files on usb device?
    I realised what the usb drive has to be.
    I have started to resize my partition to 500gb from the 1tb hardrive for ps2 games.
    I set the partition as ntfs and as a primary drive.
    I have used easus partition manager but its taking forever to do.
    Do I have to put all the fmcb files on the root of the external usb drive that I am using for the games.
    I did remember the part of just booting from the memory card only.
    Just never got as far as using external usb device.
    I used the internal hardrive last time with the network adaptor,but I blew the drive up when I tried to connect it to the pc last time so I am trying not to go down that road again.
    This console is my fathers and we just got the network adaptor anyway,which cost him £36.00
     
  14. smokyrain

    smokyrain Senior member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,207
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Hi ok to install fmcb 1.8, the guide below explains better with pictures on how the files would look on your USB drive, or just a pen drive

    http://bootleg.sksapps.com/tutorials/fmcb/advanced.php

    You can add whatever applications you want into the install folder

    Once installed to memory card, you can remove those files from the Root of your USB
    drive

    Some PS2 apps don't like more than one Partition on a USB drive, and some don't mind if its the First Partition

    I use Compuapps, SwissKnife to Format my USB drives.. It is very quick
     
    Last edited: Jul 13, 2011
  15. onehanded

    onehanded Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2008
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    hi smokyrain
    soughted it out
    I just formatted the hardrive with ps3 games on it cos I had them already on another drive
    The ps2 recognised it and I used usb extreme game installer.
    This program is shit hot as you can do the file or a backup and send it to the hardrive.
    This was doing my head in for 2 days and I just have enough hair left to have my children to recognise me.
    Many thanks for your help
     
  16. smokyrain

    smokyrain Senior member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,207
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Right on onehanded. I am glad you got everything working. Don't want you too lose all your hair, lol.

    Your very welcome and enjoy the PS2 once again!!
     

Share This Page