1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How to Maximize the use of PSP?

Discussion in 'Sony Handhelds' started by Paopao18, Mar 6, 2007.

1. Paopao18

Paopao18 Member

hi im newbie here, my brother just gave me a psp for my b-day now i dont know how to maximize the use of it. i've tried reading some forums but im getting more and more confused. how do i play these .cso and .iso files and do i need to install any software before i can play it? and what are these OE? i know my firmware is 3.03 but how do i know if its OE?

And another thing that really bother me is what i read about bricking the psp, from what i read, one wrong move and you will turn the psp into an expensive paper weight./wah Is it true? and if it happens is there a way to fix it? and what are the chances of doing it..

To anyone who will spend some time answering my questions i really appreciate the help.. thanks in advance

2. yohex

yohex Guest

Okay, to have full power of your psp, you need to downgrade, I'm pretty sure you understand that already, why do you need to downgrade, because the 1.5 already had homebrew enabled on it, so you could run homemade programs and ISO.

What is a ISO?
    they are game rips from the original game

what is a cso?
    these are the compressed versions of the ISO

3.03 OE-??
    this is custom firmware edition made by DarkAlex to give you the power of the newest sony firmware, but also retain all the power of 1.5 to allow you to run Homebrew and ISOs

And your psp is probably the official sony firmware, to check go to firmware and see if it says 3.03 OE-C if it does, then your brother did you a favour and downgrade and upgraded it for you.

To run isos you need to download them and put them on your memory card.