1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How to mod GTA San Andreas?

Discussion in 'PS2 - Games' started by ps2racer, Apr 28, 2007.

  1. ps2racer

    ps2racer Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2006
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    jolimule have you tried modding the cars on GTA SA. I have seen it been done on the computer version as well. I know you are asking has anyone else tried it on PS2, I just thought that you may have gave it a try. If you do post what you did and how you did it. I would like to try it for myself.
  2. AfterDawn

    AfterDawn Advertisement

  3. rvinkebob

    rvinkebob Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2006
    Messages:
    335
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    It works. Mod it just like you would a normal pc version but a little differently.

    1. Extract with isobuster and save your LBA
    2. Use IMG Tool 2.0 and open GTA3.IMG which should be located in the MODELS folder (you might need to delete the files then add)
    3. Replace the files you want and rebuild archive
    4. Rebuild the game image according to LBA using either cdvdgen from sony or cdgen 3.0 (i prefer sony cdvdgen)
    5. Save to IML with cdvdgen or save to image with cdgen
    6. Use IML2ISO or another program to make an ISO if using sony cdvdgen and burn

    Now if you don't want to go through the whole rebuilding process just make sure you're not making the GTA3.IMG bigger. Extract ONLY the GTA3.IMG file, and do steps 2 and 3 then use a program like ISO Relinker or Apache 3 to replae the file in the ISO, then burn.

    Now a big problem is how many polygons the car or object is. If the mod has too many polygons the frames will be unbelievably slow or the game will just freeze. If this happens you might not be able to use that mod.
  4. rvinkebob

    rvinkebob Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2006
    Messages:
    335
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    They're different probably cause VCS won't be coming to PC. Anyway the modding is very touchy (by which I mean buggy). I modified a Washington to be a Cadillac and it was working and now it keeps on saying "Error reading Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas Disc".

    Tell me what happens with your modding. Remember that if you don't know how many polygons the mod contains, just look at how realistic the mod looks like.

    And also, don't waste your time by adding new maps. You'll constantly get the error reading disc message.
  5. Jamould

    Jamould Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Is There Are mod that allows you to play online either on your Ps2 or the Pcsx2.
  6. t0mb0y000

    t0mb0y000 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    FINALLY... someone besides me plays games on PC...

    Need help with los desperados mission. I can't stop Haze from getting killed... I use crazy trainer +151, but no luck!!! Can you help me???
  7. dsmock

    dsmock Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2007
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I have tryed to mod GTA: San Andreas for my modded xbox. I ftped all the files from my xbox to my computer. I then installed the mods for pc in my gta3.img file using img tool. then i made an iso file out of all the files that i ftped to my computer, but now they are modded, then i burnt the iso file to a dvd disc and poop it in my xbox, but it doesn't recognize the disc and therefore won't play it. I also tryed just playing it on my computer. I used the method to put the exe file in the crack folder and boot it up and it starts, but when it goes to the loading screen it loads to about halfway then theres a pop up on my computer saying there was an unknown errorand it shuts down the game. someone please help i would really like to mod san andreas.

    thanks
  8. rvinkebob

    rvinkebob Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2006
    Messages:
    335
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    To mod the PC version you'll need the actual PC game no matter what. For xbox I have no clue as I don't have an xbox nor have I ever built a disc for one. Try posting this question in the xbox area as more people might know what's wrong.
  9. isaiah60

    isaiah60 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hey guys i am new to all this. I want to mod my cars on the ps2. How do I get them from my Mac to Ps2? Is there softwere I can use on my Mac?
  10. austin22

    austin22 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hi, whats going on u guys??? i was wondering if some one could help me because i have moded my xbox before but now i am moving on to sony and i was wondering if you guys could tell me how to mod my ps2 so i can have all the sick cars and things????
  11. NHS2008

    NHS2008 Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    Messages:
    625
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Not possible!
    Do not try!!
    I have had 7 coasters!!!
    no luck!!!!
  12. austin22

    austin22 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hi guys it is me again but i just want to ask if some one can tell me what i need to mod my ps2 and how to set it up??? Like i need to know the steps of all of this????
    Thanks, Austin
  13. kiri786

    kiri786 Guest

    hi gies would any of you know how to mod gta san andreas on pc i tried to mod it with the img tool but that does not work
  14. rvinkebob

    rvinkebob Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2006
    Messages:
    335
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Did you

    a.)Delete the file your replacing first
    b.)Add the new modification
    c.)Rebuild the IMG
    ?

    Make sure you did all that for the mod to work. Most of all make sure you modified the gta3.img file.
  15. Mike4690

    Mike4690 Guest

    how do i like add cloths into my san andreas...like i seen people play with like g-unit cloths...how do i get that ?
  16. Mike4690

    Mike4690 Guest

    i have san andreas for ps2, am i able to modify it ?
  17. NHS2008

    NHS2008 Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    Messages:
    625
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
  18. compelp

    compelp Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    hello guys,
    i still have 1 problem. first of all let me tell u the steps that i took.
    1. opened gta3.img with IMG v 2 tools.
    2. deleted zr350.dff and zr350.txd (thats the files name that i m replacing).
    3. i added the new zr350.dff and zr350.txd files.
    4. i rebuild archive.
    5. i opened gta san andreas game.
    6. started new game.
    7. at loading screen it loaded about half way and it stopped there. computer was basically frozen. i had to manually turn off computer.

    any idea whats wrong? btw i installed game from cd and haven't applied any patches ( just throwing it out there).

    if i m doing somethiing wrong plz let me know i really want to try out this mods
  19. rvinkebob

    rvinkebob Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2006
    Messages:
    335
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Oh wow, and you're even doing it on the PC version (higher success rate). I couldn't say what's going wrong. I though that you were talking about the PS2 version, which you would've had to remove the gta_1.img file, but then you said computer. Try asking for help in the Games for Windows forums or another trusty GTA modding forums such as gtaforums.com.
  20. ricardo95

    ricardo95 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
  21. ricardo95

    ricardo95 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    tell me what you have to do because i can't remember which mission is that but i have completed the game twice

    Send mission Info. to ricardoalexandre95@hotmail.com

    Thanks,
    Ricardo95

Share This Page