1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

how to open a DOS window

Discussion in 'PC hardware help' started by haasmon92, Jun 25, 2007.

  1. haasmon92

    haasmon92 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2007
    Messages:
    366
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    hi, im a complete newb at this stuff but i was wondering if any1 could tell me how to open a DOS window on my PC, thnx!
     
  2. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,091
    Likes Received:
    84
    Trophy Points:
    128
    depending on what windows you are using then goto programs or accessories & open up ms-dos prompt
     
  3. haasmon92

    haasmon92 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2007
    Messages:
    366
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    o thnx i appreciate it! :D
     
  4. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,091
    Likes Received:
    84
    Trophy Points:
    128
    no problem, teach & learn
     
  5. haasmon92

    haasmon92 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2007
    Messages:
    366
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    i have win XP. i opened up all 0progams and went into accessories but i didnt see anything named open ms dos or anything like that. any advice?
     
  6. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,091
    Likes Received:
    84
    Trophy Points:
    128
    just looked at a computer that i'm working on & the name is command prompt which is in accessories
     
  7. haasmon92

    haasmon92 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2007
    Messages:
    366
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    o thnx i gets it now! :D
     
  8. GrandpaBW

    GrandpaBW Active member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2004
    Messages:
    3,739
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    68
    You can also click on the Start icon on your desktop, click on Run, and type in CMD, and hit Ok.
     

Share This Page