1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How to open a Laptop HardDrive?

Discussion in 'PC hardware help' started by cubebomb, Apr 3, 2007.

  1. cubebomb

    cubebomb Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hi, anyone here has actually open up a laptop hard drive. if so can you please tell me what tools exactly do i need. i did a Google search and im getting some torx screwdriver with Phillips ones, but there are different T sizes on them and i just wanted to know which one it is that i need.

    problem:
    My laptop HD makes this weird ticking noise when i connect it to my PC with an external enclosure, and nothing comes up.
    when i use it to boot up in my laptop it says, Bios not found and Disk boot error or whatever.
    i try using Kubuntu, but when it tries to open the partition window it stops in there and it never opens. anyones help will be appreciated
    thanks.
     
  2. Auslander

    Auslander Senior member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    Messages:
    5,432
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    what are you trying to accomplish? if you don't know how to open a hard drive, i guarantee you don't have the capability to swap out anything and fix it.

    your drive is dead. you need to buy a new one. if you have data on there that you absolutely need, then it's time to take it to a recovery specialist. there are good data recovery programs out there you can use at home, but i think your drive is too far gone.
     
  3. cubebomb

    cubebomb Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    ohh man that sucks, but can i at least know the tools i need to open it maybe like my mp3 player, it went dead i opened it and then it worked.
     
  4. Auslander

    Auslander Senior member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    Messages:
    5,432
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    you probably just jostled a loose connection back into place.
     
  5. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,071
    Likes Received:
    79
    Trophy Points:
    128
    what is the capacity of the drive & are you using 1 cable from drive to pc or 2?
     
  6. cubebomb

    cubebomb Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    is 80GB 7200rpm Ultra ATA Hard Drive w/ 8MB Cache
    i used my external drive before and it worked,but now is just making that ticking noise..=/
     
  7. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,071
    Likes Received:
    79
    Trophy Points:
    128
    1 cable or 2 cables from drive to pc?
     
  8. cubebomb

    cubebomb Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    what do you mean.? i use 1 cable that connects to my hard drive enclosure to my usb port, and I've try the usb power cord as well
     
  9. Auslander

    Auslander Senior member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    Messages:
    5,432
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    sig is 40 pixels too tall, cubebomb.

    ddp is trying to make sure your drive has both power and a connection to the mobo, i believe.
     
  10. janrocks

    janrocks Guest

    Hmmm.. ticking noise.. deceased RIP!

    Usual cause is one of the heads has failed so the drive is unable to read sector0 or anything on the first platter.
     
  11. cubebomb

    cubebomb Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Yes i do have both, and im trying another HDD 120gb and its doing the same thing, i also tryed using a diffrent connector to my PC the antecc one, and the harddrive are making the same ticking noise
    but when i pluged in my Laptop they run and Dont make that ticking noise
     
  12. Auslander

    Auslander Senior member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    Messages:
    5,432
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    i would have said it's the external enclosure, but if you're keeping it in the same enclosure.

    ....you're saying, all other variables equal (external enclosure, wires, etc), you hook the drive up to your desktop and it makes noises, but you hook it up to the laptop and it works fine?
     
  13. cubebomb

    cubebomb Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Yes like it will run normal, i can feel it, and it doesnt make that ticking noise, when connected to the Labtop itself
     
  14. Auslander

    Auslander Senior member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    Messages:
    5,432
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    but it still doesn't function properly when connected to the laptop? i stick with dead drive.
     
  15. cubebomb

    cubebomb Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    ok here is what i got so far, the drives DO work, dam...i slammed one in the floor.. the one with XP and now im able to access all of my files, now i dont know what it is, but when its on my labtop it keeps on saying, bios not found. then it goes to system Os not found..is it maybe the laptop itself
     
  16. Auslander

    Auslander Senior member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    Messages:
    5,432
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    beating your drives around should not let you access files. if it is, then the driving is definitely going.

    your laptop may be trying to boot from USB. check your bios settings.

    you're not being very clear with your wording. please be precise and don't jump from thought to thought.

    from what you've said so far, i don't trust your drives.
     
  17. GrandpaBW

    GrandpaBW Active member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2004
    Messages:
    3,735
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    68
    I'd actually see how far I could skip the laptop on the nearest lake. Lots of ice still on the lake where I live, so I would have to wait a couple of weeks. :)
     
  18. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,071
    Likes Received:
    79
    Trophy Points:
    128
    the reason i asked if using 1 cable or 2 is that i have a laptop drive in an usb enclosure & have to use 2 usb cables as 1 is for data & power & the 2nd is for power. i only have that with my 40gig as my old 6.4gig didn't need as much power to spin. mine clicks if it doesn't get enough power.
     
  19. cubebomb

    cubebomb Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    ohh ok, then i guess it has to do with my laptop connectors, i just tried putting in vista and it doesnt detect any hdd guess ill contact hypersonic and see what can be done. thanks for the help.
     

Share This Page