1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

how to pinpoint glitching

Discussion in 'Digital TV - UK & Europe' started by tongs007, Nov 3, 2011.

  1. tongs007

    tongs007 Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,895
    Likes Received:
    47
    Trophy Points:
    78
    as the title says. dm800 clone glitching now and then. is there anyway to pinpoint where the problem is? i.e the box, the server, me downloading torrents ( which doesn't seem to make a difference once i stop them) any help would be appreciated. p.s its not just the hd channels which are glitching
     
  2. fintannl

    fintannl Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,834
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    48
    try a different server
     
  3. tongs007

    tongs007 Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,895
    Likes Received:
    47
    Trophy Points:
    78
    i paid 6 month lol.
    also been tgoing through the amplitudes and its made a bit better
     
    Last edited: Nov 3, 2011
  4. lukeian5

    lukeian5 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    as fintannl says, try a different server. Get a 24hr test line from another server, put it in your config file and put # before your existing line to disable it and see how it goes for a while. Also don't download anything when your testing it.

    Keep an eye on your ECM times too, preferably below .300 and hop1, check these before you try a new line, if they are way high, get on to your server.
     
  5. tongs007

    tongs007 Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,895
    Likes Received:
    47
    Trophy Points:
    78
    cheers luke. hops 1 and ecm 164 is the lowest and 450 is the highest ive seen. half the time its over 300 and ive been keeping my eye on it for a few mins
     
  6. tongs007

    tongs007 Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,895
    Likes Received:
    47
    Trophy Points:
    78
    one just peaked at over 500?
     
  7. fintannl

    fintannl Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,834
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    48
    good share is between 0.1 and 0.2 seconds response. yet 0.3 and 0.4 still should be ok. over that and you will see the odd glitch. what luk says is correct. what you will find is that server does not contain all channels and is requesting info off further servers. so what you will find is that hop1 channels should be ok but hop2 and especially hop3 are not the best. you should make sure that all key channels you watch are off hop1 else you move to other provider
     
  8. tongs007

    tongs007 Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,895
    Likes Received:
    47
    Trophy Points:
    78
    so is that 500 anything to do with it do you think
     
  9. fintannl

    fintannl Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,834
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    48
    nope, the 500 is a perfectly fine box. what type of broadband are you using
     
  10. tongs007

    tongs007 Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,895
    Likes Received:
    47
    Trophy Points:
    78
    broadbands fine mate virgin 20meg
     
  11. tongs007

    tongs007 Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,895
    Likes Received:
    47
    Trophy Points:
    78
    well been intouch with my provider and he's sent me another c line to add, lets see how this one goes
    and its still wa*k and noone will get back to me with a 24hr test :(
     
    Last edited: Nov 6, 2011
  12. tongs007

    tongs007 Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,895
    Likes Received:
    47
    Trophy Points:
    78
    and i meant 500 ecm m8
     
  13. lukeian5

    lukeian5 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    ecm-500 would explain why your glitching now & then. Get another test line form a diff server, not your onw guy & try that.
     
  14. tongs007

    tongs007 Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,895
    Likes Received:
    47
    Trophy Points:
    78
    ive emailed 2 mate and noones got back yet. cheers for your help mate
     
  15. lukeian5

    lukeian5 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I'd say they wont give you a line till the footy is over, as a lot of ppl try to get test lines for the w/end lol
     
  16. tongs007

    tongs007 Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,895
    Likes Received:
    47
    Trophy Points:
    78
    ah right makes sense that like. i don't do footy tho lol
    do you know any stable ones?
     
    Last edited: Nov 6, 2011
  17. lukeian5

    lukeian5 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    think if I advertise for payservers, I'd be banned in a shot lol
     
  18. tongs007

    tongs007 Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,895
    Likes Received:
    47
    Trophy Points:
    78
    yes you would but there is a pm option:)
     

Share This Page