1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How to play PS2 Pal games on PS3 NSTC?

Discussion in 'PS3 - Modding & Hacking' started by ehyho, Mar 22, 2007.

  1. ehyho

    ehyho Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    i got my PS3 from Hong Kong. however i tried to play my old PS2 games (UK), it doesn't work. so does anyone know how or where i can chip my PS3? or is it possible to do so? i brought along a Blu-Ray disc with me to Hong Kong and surprisingly it works. so just to share this information.

    thanks Eddie
     
  2. adz_fahie

    adz_fahie Guest

    as of yet you cannot play games from different regions to your console not including ps3 games of course as they are not regioned :) however there are groups who are working on this

    hope this helps

    adz
     
  3. SilvaJDS

    SilvaJDS Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2007
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    as the uk ps3 is out , is it region free or what has anyone tested any games out??
     
  4. ehyho

    ehyho Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    thanks for all your reply. i ordered a UK game from Play.com can't wait to test it on my Hong Kong console. i just hope it works. i shall let u know it does or not.

    Eddie
     
  5. UKDude007

    UKDude007 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hi Ed,

    Please let me know how your new game (UK) will work on your Hong Kong PS3?

    And can you please explain which region is your blu-ray movie? You mentioned that you bought some blu-ray movie with you to Hong Kong and it works perfectly on PS3?

    I'm just wondering if it is UK's Blu-Ray Movie, or USA's Blu-ray movie you were bringing to Hong Kong.

    I'm interested in this information.

    Many thanks for your info,

    Cheers
    Diego
     
  6. SilvaJDS

    SilvaJDS Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2007
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Region A blu rays are for hong kong , its on the box , and the dvd region 3 i think , btw region A is USA
     
  7. ehyho

    ehyho Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    i bought the Blu-Ray movie from Play.com before i went to Hong Kong in Jan. i am not sure which region it is. i am at work now. i shall have a look tonight and let u know next time. but OH MY GOD the picture quality was amazing. i got a 1080p tv, it finally has the ability to show off the true full HD property.

    Eddie
     
  8. UKDude007

    UKDude007 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Thanks for info, but I thought blue rays region for Hong Kong is region C (as in Asia)? I heard it is the case.

    Thanks for info in advance,

    Diego
     
  9. UKDude007

    UKDude007 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hi, did you have any chance to find out which (USA/UK) blu ray movie did you use on your Hong Kong PS3?

    And how's that UK game working on Hong Kong PS3 or not yet receiving that game?

    Please let me know how it goes.

    Thanks
     
  10. DBM_Bones

    DBM_Bones Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    My UK PS3 won't play USA GT4.

    It say's some rubish about not right region :(
     
  11. UKDude007

    UKDude007 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    So, that means, you can't play USA PS2 game on UK PS3. According to lots of people here, for those older PS games (ie PS1, and PS2) are region-locked unlike PS3 games.

    So, you would need to get USA PS2 to play USA GTA 4 game :(

    It is a bit pain to have PS3 games as region-free but can't play PS2 games properly.

    Maybe have you tried that "Free region" DVD? I have seen that it removes region-lock from PS2 for teh movie, but I dunno if it works for the game?? Anyone try that?

    I wish someone to come up with method to unlock PS3 to allow us to play PS2 games on PS3 regardless of region (as in UK PS2 games to play on USA PS3 etC).

    Diego
     
  12. DBM_Bones

    DBM_Bones Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Well just have to keep on playing my PS2, as its has Toxic OS and 250 GB HDD. Also the PQ is so much better with component cables.

    I was suprised you still get the crap Composite cable with the PS3
     
  13. ehyho

    ehyho Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    hi everyone

    good news, i received the Marvel Ultimate Alliance from Play.com on Sat. and it works, THANK GOD FOR THAT. it has Region 2 logo on the back of the case. the two games i bought from Hong Kong were Region 3. i also had a look at the back of the Blu-ray movie i brought along to HK which has Region 2 is stated. however i just got the new James Bond's Casio Royale which has ALL REGION at the back of the case. they both working on my PS3.

    i am the same, i wish someone can crack the region code soon to unlock the PS3 then we all can play PS2's games.

    Eddie
     
  14. UKDude007

    UKDude007 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    That's fantastic news, Eddie :D

    I'm surprised to hear that you can play Blu-region movie (the one you bought to HK from UK) can work on HK PS3! I thought HK is in different region from UK when it comes to blu-ray movie? I heard that HK, along with Asia are in Region C, while UK is in Region B (and USA/Japan is in Region A).

    Is anybody else have same success as Eddie when it comes to play different region of Blu-ray Movie on PS3?

    Eddie - Which shop did you buy PS3 from? Fortress? or Sony Style Centre (Sony's own shop)? I head out to HK in few weeks time. Not only that but I also head out to USA in two month times. I better to make a decision on whether to buy HK PS3 or USA PS3 (sorry, no thanks to UK PS3 - why would I have to pay rip-off price for reduced version/scaled PS3 in UK?).
     
  15. UKDude007

    UKDude007 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I have some untested ideas (or theory) regarding playing UK PS2 on (HK/USA) PS3.

    I am pretty "noob" /"newbie" when it comes to play backup games on PS2 (fat one, not slimone).

    I have read some information about the softmod (ie SwapMagic 3.6).

    From what I understood is that it allows PS2 to play backup games, and imported games without any problem.

    SO, I wonder if is it possible to put SwapMagic 3.6 into PS3, to "soft-boot" PS3, and then swapping that disc with the actual game (/backup/imported games).

    Will that "release" region-lock part for PS2 and PS1 games on PS3?

    Conceptually, it could be work, but I don't know if it will work in real life or not? Would love to test this idea but I don't have PS3 yet :( Plus I'm newbie to softmod part.

    So I hope to hear some opinions from people who have more experienced with softmod, about this concept like will it work or not really?

    Anyway, I can't really understand the logics behind Sony's decision regarding region lock part on PS3. I mean, Sony supports region-free PS3 games for PS3 right?

    How comes they didn't release some update patch that would allow PS3 to play PAL/NTSC/imported PS2 games then?

    It is some kind of contradictory from Sony , know what I meant? I am not criticising Sony or anything like that - it is just that I can't understand why not Sony can't do same thing for PS2 games on PS3??

    Cheers,
    Diego
     
  16. pauer

    pauer Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Anyone have any luck with the softmod? i don't really know much about this but would like to know if anyone has any success in running a UK PS2 game (PAL) on a US PS3 system.

    Any help would be great.
    Thanks!

     
  17. ehyho

    ehyho Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    hi Diego

    i bought my PS3 from a big chain Called Fortune or something like that. it is every where in HK. it has a Reddish / Orange sign for the shop front. there r a genuine shop.

    i should have a look on the box of my PS3 to c which region it is. i have a feeling that it is a Japan version. if it is so, that's why it is multi-region for blu-ray. i might be wrong for that. so don't take my word 100%.

    what u should do is to do what i did, bring a blu-ray movie with u to HK next time. ask they to play it for u there and then. if it works, then great. i bought my PS3 with extra controller plus 2 games for £320. especially the exchange rate is great between £ to HK$. by saying that it is also good rate between £ to US$ as well. so u have both options.

    i am happy with my PS3 so far, no problem. finger cross. apart from not able to play PS2 games.

    take care Eddie
     
  18. cruz47

    cruz47 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Guys,

    I came across this thread when I was searching on Google on how to play US PS2 games on my HK PS3. I really want to play God of War 2 !!!! But to my dismay, it seems it will only be released in US, Europe, and AU, and they are all not in the same region as my HK PS3 :(

    Btw, I was selling the HK PS3 on eBay back in Dec / Jan when PS3 was not released in EU / AU yet, so I am very familiar with regions.

    There are 2 things you should note:

    1. HK, Taiwan, US and Japan are in the SAME region (Region A) for BluRays - this is the reason why the PS3 was released around the same time in these 4 countries back in Nov 2006.

    2. So this means, BluRay and DVD / PS2 regions are different. US and HK are definitely in different regions for DVDs and PS2 games, but they are in the same region for BluRays. I confirmed this on Wikipedia.com while I was selling the HK PS3 overseas..... my customers kept asking me what region the HK PS3 was and whether it is backward compatible with PS2 games ....

    anyway, I agree with you all, someone should definitely crack the regions in ALL consoles, not just PS3 (Wii also has region coding)! It's especially stupid for PS3 because PS3 games are region free but PS2 are not ... this is troubling me because I have recently launched a site (www.gadgetgear.com.au) to sell games and accessories, and there are some games I can't sell due to the regions. (my stock comes from HK).

    Anyway, hope this msg is useful for you people.

     
  19. BurZ

    BurZ Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hi There,

    right i have just had delivered CASIO ROYAL (PAL)BLU-RAY Version and i have a JAPANESE PS3 and i thought ahhh heck wat the hell ill stick it in the ps3 thinking it wouldnt work but guess what, it did i was surprised, i will make a YouTube video to prove.

     
  20. Orbstah

    Orbstah Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Can i just point out that several Blu-ray manufacturers are not region coding there blue ray disks at present,

    Casino royal clearly states on the back of the disc box region A,B,C All regions.

    There is a web site that tested a lot of blu-ray disks to see if they are encoded, when i find the link i will post it again.

    Just check the box in the first instance.
    but like the site proves some labeled region B are infact multi region two but i cannnot guarantee which discs it is, I also believe FOX is the only company that has a strict region coding policy. so if say B it will be B.

    hope this helps, when i find web site i will post link sorry
     

Share This Page