1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How to post a screenshot or image & How to post it on Afterdawn

Discussion in 'User submitted guides' started by travalon, May 30, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. travalon

    travalon Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2005
    Messages:
    338
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    It can't be that hard to post a visual aide. But it's beyond me. Anyone got a guide for that?


    A picture's worth a 1000 words.
     
  2. flip218

    flip218 Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2004
    Messages:
    8,344
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Step 1: push PrintScreen (above the insert button)

    Step 2: Open paint .. click start -> programs -> accessories -> paint

    Step 3: push ctrl + v

    Step 4: crop your image. I crop what I want to show -> cut it -> open new -> paste it. Crop only what you want to keep

    Step 5: save as jpeg

    Step 6: Host the jpeg here: http://imageshack.us/

    Now how to post it in a thread or your sig in Afterdawn

    You have to get the tags right ...

    [*img]<insert your link here>[/*img]

    ie:

    [*img]http://i2.photobucket.com/albums/y15/fncseattle/tags.jpg[/*img]

    you must remove the *

    [​IMG]

    Hope that helps :)
     
    Last edited: Jul 7, 2005
  3. flip218

    flip218 Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2004
    Messages:
    8,344
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    *moved from DVD-R for advanced users*
     
  4. travalon

    travalon Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2005
    Messages:
    338
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Ahh... I had 1-6 down just needed #7. And I can then add a screenshot to any questions or responses through this link?.
     
    Last edited: May 30, 2005
  5. Jizmak

    Jizmak Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Messages:
    2,584
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Yep.
    You have to create an account and upload images first (of course)

    Then you use this tag to add a picture into a post. (without the spaces)

    [ img ]http://i3.photobucket.com/albums/y74/Jizmak/Posting.bmp[ /img ]

    if done correctly it will look like this.

    [​IMG]
     
  6. Pop_Smith

    Pop_Smith Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2003
    Messages:
    970
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    @flip218 or any other Mod, I found this information very useful. I would recommend stickying it :)
     
  7. flip218

    flip218 Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2004
    Messages:
    8,344
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    why not :)

    Also, for everybody who finds this useful/helpful ... Please send a PM to Nephilim, thanking him!!

    Nephilim was the one who showed me, so I may now show you.

    So please show your appreciation and send him a PM, and don't forget to link to this thread :) lol
     
  8. Jizmak

    Jizmak Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Messages:
    2,584
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Thanks Neph :)

    Now you can see my desktop.
    (Without the camera flash)!

    [​IMG]


     
    Last edited: May 31, 2005
  9. L-Burna

    L-Burna Active member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2003
    Messages:
    2,262
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    There is an easier way to this I found out not that long ago about a year ago.If you press the prt scr button print screen button and then open up paint shop then just paste.It will put the picture in paintshop saving you the trouble of going through all the extra steps,besides cropping the image that is an extra step.I never had to go through command prompt,but I guess some people have to not sure.It should be stickied though,because I learned on my own back in the day.It really isn't hard to do,and is well worth it for adding pics in tuts and other stuff for convenience.
     
  10. flip218

    flip218 Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2004
    Messages:
    8,344
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    I added cropping, cause you never really need to use the whole screen shot.

    right on ... that is quicker. fixed first post.
     
  11. flip218

    flip218 Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2004
    Messages:
    8,344
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Don't use this thread to test screenshots. Your gonna post ... so post a screenshot that will be helpful in a thread :)
     
  12. flip218

    flip218 Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2004
    Messages:
    8,344
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Signature Testing and Guidelines Thread

    http://forums.afterdawn.com/thread_view.cfm/189144
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page