1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

how to read or open a .bin format

Discussion in 'Video - Software discussion' started by diablo, Jul 24, 2003.

  1. diablo

    diablo Guest

    Joined:
    Messages:
    0
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    what program to open a .bin format. i got a game downloaded but when i tried to install it the cab files are corrupt.. there is a layout.bin in the installed folder, it says cd-rom image file. i was wondering if i could open it and get the cab file to see if they are corrupt there to? maybe just burn it from the cd layout.bin would it work to install game?
     
  2. Dela

    Dela Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2002
    Messages:
    8,949
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Have you tried mounting it with Alcohol 120%??
     
  3. diablo

    diablo Guest

    Joined:
    Messages:
    0
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i wanted to see if was good so i could burn it to disk cause going to do a clean install of operating system but ill give alcohol 120 a try
     
  4. diablo

    diablo Guest

    Joined:
    Messages:
    0
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i tried to install the game but corrupt cabs files if i mount the game with alcohol wouldnt that cause the same error messages, when i mount the game where is alchol reading from the file to play?
     
  5. diablo

    diablo Guest

    Joined:
    Messages:
    0
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i tried alchol 120 but dont know how to mount it, and i dont know what file i need to mount the download? i put in an iso but counldnt mount it just dont know how?
     
  6. ChillBill

    ChillBill Guest

    You can use either fireburner or cdrwin to burn it to a disk. I use fireburner(never got cdrwin to work properly for me.)

    You can also use winiso to convert it to an iso and extract the files from there.

    Hope this helped.
     
  7. diablo

    diablo Guest

    Joined:
    Messages:
    0
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i tried alcohol 120 and mounted it but when i installed it, it did the same thing corrupt file...is there a way to open and read the layout.bin file to see if it contains the files that are corrupt and hopefully that they arent
     
  8. Dela

    Dela Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2002
    Messages:
    8,949
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Where did you get the game?? cause it sounds like it is badly corrupted!!
     
  9. Praetor

    Praetor Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003
    Messages:
    6,927
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    116
    ChillBill: What version of CDRWIN?
    diablo: Open the file up in CDMage and scan for corruption, remember to make a backup before you fix any errors because someitmes it doesnt work too well!_X_X_X_X_X_[small]ASUS A7V8X-X, AMD2500+
    Samsung 1024MB, PC2700
    360GB [3x120GB, 7200, 8MB]
    MSI Starforce, GeForce4 Ti4400 128MB

    AFTERDAWN IRC: irc.emule-project.net, #ad_buddies
    COME SAY HI![/small]
     
    Last edited: Jul 25, 2003
  10. diablo

    diablo Guest

    Joined:
    Messages:
    0
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    what file am i suppose to scan? never used it before, scan an iso , bin?
     
  11. diablo

    diablo Guest

    Joined:
    Messages:
    0
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    cant get the scan for corruption option to lighten up, its dark
     
  12. Praetor

    Praetor Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003
    Messages:
    6,927
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Diablo: try opening the BIN the various format Mode1/2352, Mode2/2352, RAW Image.... you CAN (should be able to) error check BIN files... maybe the BIN file was actually an ISO file but incorrectly labeled (CDMage can't error check iso's).
     

Share This Page