1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How to reinstall a dvd rom tray correctly?

Discussion in 'Xbox 360' started by andycast, Dec 17, 2014.

1. andycast

andycast Member

Hi I was wondering if anyone had serviced a 360 dvd rom & had experienced the same issues as myself and if you had you been able to fix it.

Originally I was attempting to fix a dvd rom that would not eject, I followed online instructions to clean & grease the cogs but because the drive was particularly fluffed up with dust it suggested removing disc tray from the drive to give it a proper clean which I did but being a newbie I jumped in head first & decided to remove tray & add more grease to the cogs and in doing so I rotated the cogs from their original position.

I realised almost immediately that I would have problems reinstalling the tray, true to form I had messed up, so now when I reattach the disc tray and cycle the tray back into the drive I find that the dvd carriage (if that's correct) the part which holds the laser & disc spindle rises up & blocks the disc tray from returning fully back into the dvd drive.

I've tried different positions in the cog cycle but the laser carriage either blocks tray or doesn't rise up to the tray or tray or is blocked by plastics mechanics underneath the tray preventing me from cycling the tray back into the drive, I've googled this issue & can't find anything specific to this issue, someone out there must have had the same issue at sometime, I would be grateful if anyone could offer me some practical info to get a absolute beginner out of a jam much appreciated.
    Just a little bit more info the dvd rom is a Toshiba (2006 model)

2. richietea

richietea Regular member