1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How to resize mp4 video

Discussion in 'Other video questions' started by Tin-man, Feb 13, 2012.

  1. Tin-man

    Tin-man Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Can someone tell me the best software to resize an mp4 video. The current resolution is 1920x800 but I want it at 1920x1080. What ca I use to achieve this?
     
  2. AfterDawn

    AfterDawn Advertisement

  3. keebles

    keebles Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2005
    Messages:
    696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Your display should automatically upscale the image to the highest output available to it. I was looking before at up-scaling some of my BD rips from 720p to 1080p, and got many responses from the really technically advanced, and they said that most displays now can upscale images better than any software/ up-scaling player can.
     
  4. Tin-man

    Tin-man Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    The problem is I need to have 720 or 1080 as my TV wont display at 800.
     
  5. keebles

    keebles Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2005
    Messages:
    696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    You tv should automatically adjust the image.
     
  6. attar

    attar Active member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Messages:
    11,238
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    98
    Use the likes of AviDemux to add 140 pixel black border top and bottom.


    [​IMG]
     
  7. Jigen

    Jigen Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2006
    Messages:
    651
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    The most likely answer is that when the video was encoded the person who did it cut out the top and bottom borders. This is a good idea because they use up bitrate which is better spent on actual video. On the real bluray the resolution would be 1080, but that's including the borders. Should play just fine though.
     
  8. Tin-man

    Tin-man Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Holy carp I didn't know that 1080 is with borders. So in a way its not really 1080?
     
  9. Jigen

    Jigen Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2006
    Messages:
    651
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Well it's 1080p, but 140 lines of it on top and bottom are taken up by black borders in many cases because movies are not shot to any exact standard ratio. The wider the wide screen, the more border is needed to keep video from being chopped out on your TV, and therefore less is available for the video.
     

Share This Page