1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

how to resume in IRC?

Discussion in 'Windows - P2P software' started by Ravoz, Jan 11, 2005.

  1. Ravoz

    Ravoz Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    guys im not sure how to resume my downloads using irc, anyone here know what i should do?
     
  2. Balaam

    Balaam Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2004
    Messages:
    715
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Easy. As long as the file has the same name, when you go to save a file that is being sent, if the file you want to resume is in the same folder, a box will pop up asking if you want to overwrite/resume/rename.
     
    Last edited: Jan 11, 2005
  3. DaOsT

    DaOsT Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2003
    Messages:
    709
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    some places did not have the resume feature a while ago
    but I ain't used irc in quite a while now
     
  4. Ravoz

    Ravoz Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Yea i see that but when i click resume it says "connecting" but then after a minute or so it timeouts.
     
  5. Balaam

    Balaam Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2004
    Messages:
    715
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    that happens some times and theres no easy answer. could be on your side. do you use a router? proxy? could be on the other guys end. and could be the server you connect too. the only real recourse is to try again and again until it connects.
     
  6. Ravoz

    Ravoz Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    oh, ok thanks.

    saved me alot of time of trying to find the answer.
     
  7. Balaam

    Balaam Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2004
    Messages:
    715
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    NP, happy to help. Thats the only downside to irc, besides the fact that it can be very unsafe. Sometimes dcc just seems to decide not to work, other times it works fine. Restarting the software and signing on to different servers fixes most transient problems most of the time.
     
  8. Ravoz

    Ravoz Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    with 8 files i cant resume still i would of thought that it at least 1 would resume...
     
  9. DaOsT

    DaOsT Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2003
    Messages:
    709
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    keep trying different rooms sooner or later you will find a few were your set up matches that of theirs.....

    its just trial and error till you find a few good places
     

Share This Page