1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How to tell if my burner is bad.

Discussion in 'DVDR' started by wzrd540, Jan 10, 2008.

  1. wzrd540

    wzrd540 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Over the last week or so when ever I try to copy a dvd the disc will not play. it will still burn cd's fine but with a dvd when we go to watch it it says cannot play disc. I usually use nero with any dvd. is my burner shot or will a virus cause it? Plase help.

    Thank you.
     
  2. 7thsinger

    7thsinger Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Messages:
    3,605
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    48
    We'll need a bit more info on the process you use to burn, the media you use, etc.

    The more knowledge we have, the better we'll be able to help you out.
     
  3. wzrd540

    wzrd540 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Well I have the latest version of "Any DVD" I use nero to compress and burn. It use to work fine, but the last several times it hasn't now. I also tried it with DVD Fab Platinum and Clone dvdv2 and none worked. Yesterday I went to copy a fitness dvd of my wifes that isn't even copy righted and it will not play.
     
  4. Rotary

    Rotary Senior member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Messages:
    8,353
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    i think its the discs used! are they a new batch?

    can you use dvd identifier or dvd info pro or imgburn to tell us the dye code off the disc please... (check the dye off a good play disc then check the dye off a bad disc.)

    also if there +R can you booktype with your drive?
     
    Last edited: Jan 11, 2008
  5. wzrd540

    wzrd540 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    They are the same batch I have been using, all of a sudden this started happening. I can still burn data dvd's with them soe I don't know if I got a virus or malware or something that is cuasing this.
     
  6. Rotary

    Rotary Senior member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Messages:
    8,353
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    post your nero error log
     
  7. wzrd540

    wzrd540 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Nero doesnt give me one, it sasys that it's complete just like normal but when you put the dvd in the players they all say "Cannot read disc"
     
  8. saugmon

    saugmon Senior member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2004
    Messages:
    6,064
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Here's how you get nero's burn log:

    c:\program files\ahead\nero\nerohistory.log

    Copy the last log and paste it back in your next post .Erase the serial# on the top. It'll look something like this:
    1A20-xxxx-xxxx-xxxx-xxxx-xxxx. It'll give us a lot of info.

    Use nero infotool or dvdidentifier and tell us the MID Code from the good backups and a backup that won't play.This will tell us if that MID code changed.

    Nero said successful after the burn.Sounds like a compatability issue.

    Slap one of those discs that won't play,into the benq 1655 and try to see it it'll play it. Test it out on some other players,pc,game consoles,-from friends,family. See how they react to them. This will help narrow down the problem.

     
  9. Rotary

    Rotary Senior member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Messages:
    8,353
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    all good advice there, i still say discs i have had say 10 out of 50 bad in same batch...

    burn slow! i burn at 4x

    dont burn to outer edge! i set project size to 4300meg

    dont do anything else on pc while burning could be buffer underun!
     
    Last edited: Jan 14, 2008

Share This Page