1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

HP 300n problems

Discussion in 'DVD / Blu-ray drives' started by woff32, Oct 12, 2004.

  1. woff32

    woff32 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2004
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I have successfully used this drive for the last six months. Starting last Friday when you put a DVD in the drive it does not recognize it. It plays and burns CD's just fine but will not recognize a DVD? Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.
     
  2. Jerry746

    Jerry746 Senior member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2003
    Messages:
    4,456
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    You didn't by chance get some -R blanks instead of +R blanks by mistake?? HP 300 series burn +R only.

    Jerry
     
  3. woff32

    woff32 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2004
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    No, I only use +R's and it wont even recognize commercial DVD's(movies)
     
  4. Jerry746

    Jerry746 Senior member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2003
    Messages:
    4,456
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    First thing to try, go into your device manager, remove the burner drive, then reboot and let Windows reinstall the drive. Also while in device manager, check that your IDE channels are set to DMA not PIO. This somethings helps sort out problems.

    Jerry
     
  5. Bordo

    Bordo Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2004
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    My 300n is doing the same thing. Won't recognize DVDs but will play and burn CDs? Hoped SP2 would fix it but it didn't. Did you get yours working?
    Also, I don't see a tab in Device that lets me change the IDE channels?
    Thanks for any help.
     
  6. Jerry746

    Jerry746 Senior member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2003
    Messages:
    4,456
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    They are listed as IDE/ATA Controllers. Should be 2 channels, Primary and Secondary. Set these to DMA.

    Jerry
     
  7. Bordo

    Bordo Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2004
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Thanks but that didn't help. I also updated my firmware yesterday but that didn't help either. I starting to believe it's just the DVD has a hardware problem.
     
  8. Jerry746

    Jerry746 Senior member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2003
    Messages:
    4,456
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Its starting to look like a drive problem. HP usually makes good equipment, but my 1st dvd burner was a 200 series. I only kept it about 2 months, then sold it and got my Pioneer 106D. Haven't had a problem since. When it dies, another Pioneer will replace it.

    Jerry
     

Share This Page