1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

I am about to break! Please tell me what I am doing wrong.

Discussion in 'DVDR' started by Loctus, Feb 13, 2005.

1. Loctus

Loctus Member

I am very new to dvd ripping/buring but it already seems like I need a phd degree to burn a movie.

I've done about 8 hours of research and wasted 10 of my 25 dvds and still no results.

So I am trying to rip a movie and I do it by ripping it with dvd shrink. Ok great, now I have an image file
    and I burn it wiht DVD Decrypter...result: works on my pc, I get "cannot play" on my dvd player :(

Another try: I rip the dvd to components .ifo .vob , etc files... try to burn it with nero and I get this:

"DVD-Video files reallocation failed. The resulting DVD-Video Might Be unplayable. Do you want to continue?"
    I found out that this is not fatal and it's ok to press OK, but then I get this:
    "A non critical error occured during the operation, which may result in a defective write. Do you wish to continuethe wirte anyway?"

and in the event log log
    "DVD-Video files compliance ignored"

for this error I found that on the Nero website:
    "Sometimes DVD authoring programs create non-compliant video projects.
    Important Note
    Nero can’t burn illegally ripped DVDs. Usually they loose compliance through ripping."

If I keep going, the dvd burns succesfully but still doesn't work on my dvd player.

I also tried burning with cloneDVD2, burnatonce and I tried making an Image of the component files using IfoEdit and trying to burn them... and so on.

I don't know what else to do. I read bad reviews on the type of Fujifilm media I am using, maybe I should try another brand. Maybe there is some flaw in my burning procedure... I don't know, but I spent so much time, read so many tutorials and forums that there is not much left for me to do but ask you for help.

Here is what I have:
    Lite-on 16x DVD RW 1633s