1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

I can burn to dvd+rw but not to dvd+r

Discussion in 'DVD±R for advanced users' started by unclechip, Dec 12, 2004.

  1. unclechip

    unclechip Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2004
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I have a Dell with a Phillips DVD+RW drive and have burned a few dozen DVD's over the last year. Recently, I had to format my hard drive and since then cannot burn DVD+R's. I can burn CD's fine (R/RW). I simply continue to get error messages during the process.
     
  2. ScubaPete

    ScubaPete Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Messages:
    6,324
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116


    I need you to answer 2 questions:

    1. Exactly what errors are you getting and with what proggys ?

    2. What media are you using ?

    Pete

     
  3. steimy

    steimy Active member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    12,030
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    96
    Try updating your firmware, or reinstalling the DVD drive again. If it worked for DVD+R before, then it should still work now.
     
  4. DopeFreak

    DopeFreak Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2004
    Messages:
    195
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    if u r using nero it wont work for it. i can send u a prog that tells u how to burn dvd+R's. i tryed nero but couldnt figure nero out i got a better prog i can fit 6 fullm ovies on one dvd+R perfect quality.
     
  5. Hallywood

    Hallywood Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2004
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    DopeFreak,
    I would like to hear your recipe for this as well.
    6 full length movies on 1 DVD with no quality loss?
    Sounds to good to be true but, I'm open to anything new. Please explain it here, so we all can learn.
    Thanks,
    HW.
     
    Last edited: Dec 13, 2004
  6. ScubaPete

    ScubaPete Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Messages:
    6,324
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116


    DopeFreak,

    Would you please use proper English when posting ?

    Many members don't speak English as their 1st language and your "code" is disrespectfull -

    Pete

     
  7. DopeFreak

    DopeFreak Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2004
    Messages:
    195
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Alright sorry. ill post the instructions soon it may take a while ill need to make it.
     
  8. unclechip

    unclechip Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2004
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    ScubaPete
    I'm using programs such as Roxio Easy
    cd/dvd creator, power director 3. Get errors such as
    CD Recorder error, tracking servo failure
    trackwriter error, command retry failed
     
    Last edited: Dec 14, 2004
  9. ScubaPete

    ScubaPete Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Messages:
    6,324
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116


    Hey there unclechip, welcome toaD,

    As the Chinese laundry man once said, "So solly me no dew Woxio."

    Roxio has a well earned rep around here as a DVD Video troublemaker.

    Here's my only post on that subject -

    Starting from when you have your VIDEO_TS folder ready from DVD Shrink, open Roxio's Creator Classic. Pick a new DATA project. Type the movie title where the disc name is (040103_0048). You want two folders inside the main disc: VIDEO_TS and AUDIO_TS. Nothing is in the audio folder; It's just for compatibility. The video folder should contain the shrunken DVD files and all from DVD Shrink. You can check Project Properties if you like, but it always says UDF file system for me. You can also click Validate Project under the File menu, but again, it always accepts it. The only hairy thing you have to watch out for is misspelling audio_ and VIDEO_TS. Once it's all loaded up, burn it. It's that simple. I'm telling you, it has always worked for me, no errors except when I used some cruddy cheap media. Specs: Roxio Creator Classic Version 6.1.1.7 software.

    Ya see why I don't dew Roxio, it's too much work. It's so much easier to burn with DVD Decrypter, CopyToDVD or Nero. (OOOpppss, ya can't have Nero if you have Roxio.) Woxio tries to ruin everything around it. Reason 2. why I don't dew Woxio .

    Cheers, and Seasons Greetings,

    Pete
     
  10. unclechip

    unclechip Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2004
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    ScubaPete,

    Thank for the info. By the way, I do have Nero loaded as well on my system. Can this be an issue?

     
  11. ScubaPete

    ScubaPete Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Messages:
    6,324
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116



    There's no problem for Roxio - She's like a $3.00 whore at the "Docks" when the fleet comes in - She's not worried about having any problems but those around her worry a lot -

    As I beleve I mentioned, She ruins Nero the most. Don't expect Nero to operate at all with Roxio on board. The vast majority of pple here have deleted Roxio and never looked back :)

    If you decide to rid yourself of her, delete it from your Add/Remove option in Control Panel. After you've done that, you'll need this -

    In order to cleanly and totally remove all of Roxio's tentacles and tendrils from your system, Roxio Zapper – Here's the link –

    a great Roxio remover

    Roxio Zapper:
    http://www.microadvantage.net/downloads/zapper60.zip

    Best of luck and -

    SEASON'S GREETINGS,

    Pete



     

Share This Page