1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

I Can't Do This

Discussion in 'Digital TV - UK & Europe' started by MissPoohs, Sep 29, 2007.

  1. MissPoohs

    MissPoohs Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2007
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hi Guys

    I'm desparately trying to flash my box, but I can't even get the USB serial port adapter to work.

    It's saying "can't open serial port"

    I think I've installed it on my lappie OK - whit am I doing wrong?
     
  2. Celtic71

    Celtic71 Active member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
    Messages:
    5,948
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    To see which port your USB adapter is connected to, connect your USB adapter and follow the following instructions:

    1. Go to the Start Menu
    2. Right click on "My Computer"
    3. Select "Properties"
    4. Click on the "Hardware" tab
    5. Click on "Device Manager"
    6. Click the + sign next to "Ports (COM & LPT)"
    7. One of the listed ports should indicate which port your USB adapter is connected to (e.g. COM1, COM2, COM3, etc.)
    8. Go back to your map software program that you use to transfer data and make sure it is looking at the correct port.
    9. You should be able to transfer data once the correct port is selected

    If you need drivers go here

    http://www.gilsson.com/usb_drivers_download.htm
     
  3. MissPoohs

    MissPoohs Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2007
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I'm in My Computer but can't see Properties?
     
  4. MissPoohs

    MissPoohs Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2007
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Found it but I'm lost here.

    Says it's on COMM6, but where's my map software prog?
     
  5. karljd

    karljd Regular member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    4,108
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    On the left of my computer under view system information left click under system properties left click hardware then device manager lok in ports(com&lpt)
     
  6. MissPoohs

    MissPoohs Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2007
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Yep I got it is says - Prolific USB to Serial Comm Port (COM7)- what do I do with it now?

    Yes I really am that thick.
     
  7. karljd

    karljd Regular member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    4,108
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    You need to change the port to 1,2 3 or 4
     
  8. cueboy

    cueboy Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2007
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Map software prog is the prog you are using to transfer data between ur laptop & the box.
     
  9. karljd

    karljd Regular member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    4,108
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    your not thick i spent a whole afternoon doing this 3 weeks ago now if only i could remember..........!
     
  10. MissPoohs

    MissPoohs Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2007
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I've only got the option of 1 - 4 on my software but it's using port 6 - I've tried all my other USB but 6 is the lowest number I can find.
     
  11. cueboy

    cueboy Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2007
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Sc0user is the one to ask really but i don't think he's about at the mo. is it a Eurovox u got?
     
  12. MissPoohs

    MissPoohs Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2007
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    It's "The Box" I've got - I should have had more sense than to buy one - if's it's no' plug and play I'm stumped!!
     
  13. cueboy

    cueboy Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2007
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ahh, sorry. i only know a about the Eurovox :(...don't worry though, hang about for sc0user - he will sort you out ;)
     
  14. MissPoohs

    MissPoohs Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2007
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I'm gaunnie huv tae take the dogs out now - one of them is a tad wiffy, think it's a'this stress!!! LOL Jx
     
  15. Celtic71

    Celtic71 Active member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
    Messages:
    5,948
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    Sorry I had to go offline

    To change the COM port number assigned to a USB to Serial Adapter follow the steps below:

    Open the Windows Device Manager.
    Right click on the COM port you want to change.
    Left click on Properties.
    Click on the Port Settings tab.
    Click on the Advanced... button.
    Use the drop down list to select the COM port number you want to use.
    Click OK.
    Click on OK again and close Device Manager.
     
  16. karljd

    karljd Regular member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    4,108
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Yeah sc0ucer's the man for this but in the meantime us rookies will try to help you out you need to go back into my computer go back into (com&lpt) right click your usb device go to properties and see can you change the com port from here
     
  17. karljd

    karljd Regular member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    4,108
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Cheers celt71 explained it a lot better than i did
     
  18. MissPoohs

    MissPoohs Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2007
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I'm back - doggies were burstin'!!!

    Anyway thank you for all your help, you may be rookies but you all know a whole lot more than me!!
     
  19. MissPoohs

    MissPoohs Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2007
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Right managed that - and have downloaded to the Box - only now instead of resetting the box just has a wee green light flitting across the display!!

    Trying not to panic.
     
  20. MissPoohs

    MissPoohs Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2007
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ohhhh pooh - I think I've killed the box!!!
     

Share This Page