1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

I CAN'T FTP PLZ HELP

Discussion in 'Xbox - General discussion' started by spawnkilr, Jun 11, 2007.

  1. spawnkilr

    spawnkilr Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    This is what it says
    [R] Connecting to 192.168.0.3 -> IP=192.168.0.3 PORT=21
    [R] Connection failed (Connection timed out)
    [R] Delaying for 120 seconds before reconnect attempt #1
     
  2. spawnkilr

    spawnkilr Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I Have a modded xbox with avalaunch dash and i don't know how to type things in on the dash it just shows it at the bottom and i can't do anything but it says my static ip is like 10.10.10.err.3 i dont know it's at the very bottom left of my screen plz help
     
  3. cakes227

    cakes227 Guest

    you have to go to your network setings and change your static ip to dhcp
     
  4. chunkhead

    chunkhead Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2006
    Messages:
    2,753
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    DHCP will cause you many headaches. Assign your Xbox a Static address in "Network Settings". The Xbox and the PC need to be on the same network. If you are using just a NIC and the Xbox you'll need a crossover cable.

    PC IP Address: (Static) 10.1.1.1 Subnet Mask: 255.0.0.0
    Xbox IP Address: (Static) 10.1.1.2 Subnet Mask: 255.0.0.0

    OR

    PC IP Address: (Static) 192.168.1.1 Subnet Mask: 255.255.255.0
    Xbox IP Address: (Static) 192.168.1.2 Subnet Mask: 255.255.255.0

    This setup will also apply to a router/switch, however you can then use a Straight through cable instead!

    Let me know how you get on and I can help you further!
     
  5. steimy

    steimy Active member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    12,030
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    96
    FTP is a funny thing and there are so many ways to do it. My set up went against what everyone use to tell me and it still works just fine. Here is what you need to do.

    1. On your PC go to START->RUN->and type cmd
    2. in the DOS command prompt bo type ipconfig/all and write down all of the information iot gives you.
    3. now do not worry about if your PC is set up static or DHCP because you should still be able to set the Xbox to static and manually set the network up. My PC is DHCP but i usually manually set up my Xbox as it is easier. OK, there are two things more to consider before moving on.
    A) do you have a wireless router that has security enabled, if so then you need to get all the crucial security information from your router set up page (usually obtained by bringing up your internet browser and typing 192.168.1.1)
    B) Do you have the correct ethernet cable, which would be a CAT5 CROSSOVER cable
    4. once you have that you can set up your network on the Xbox.
    If A) above is true then you have to set the network up in the MS Dash first because hacked dashboards do not have any place to enter the security information for your router. Without that on a secure network you will never make the connection. If not then move on to the next step. no matter which dashboard you set it up in the settings are the same, it is just the addition of the security information that is needed on the secure wireless router.
    5. Here is an example of a set up.

    ipconfig for PC gives you the following:
    IP Address 192.168.1.100
    Subnet Mask 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway 192.168.1.1
    DNS 12.127.16.68
    DNS 12.127.16.69

    Set up Xbox :
    static: yes
    IP address 192.168.1.105
    all the rest of the information will be entered just as it appears above. The IP address can be anything within range that is not being used by another device on your network, just change the last 3 numbers to, 101,102,103,110, or whatever is close to 100.

    FTP program:
    Ip address to connect with will be whatever you entered as the Xbox IP address, so in the above example 192.168.1.105
    port will always be 21 which is default
    username and passwork are "xbox" all lowercase and no quotes.

    hope that will at least get you started.
     
  6. spawnkilr

    spawnkilr Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    ok thx i will try l8tr
    im quaped out thx for info every one if any other info you can give me plz do so see ya
     
  7. spawnkilr

    spawnkilr Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    THIS IS MY INFO

    DHCP ENABLED: YES
    IP: 192.168.1.101
    SUBNET MASK: 255.255.255.0
    GATEWAY: 192.168.1.1
    DHCP SERVER: 192.168.1.1
    DNS SERVER: 74.132.1.132
     
  8. spawnkilr

    spawnkilr Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    XBOX INFO WITH AVALAUNCH DASH

    NETWORK :ENABLED
    DHCP : DISABLED
    STATIC IP: 10.0.10.237
    GATEWAY: 192.168.0.1
    SUBNET : 255.255.255.0
    DNS 1 :195.159.0.100
    DNS 2 :195.159.0.200
    PROXY: ENABLED
    PROXY IP: 10.0.0.1
    PROXY PORT:8080




     
  9. spawnkilr

    spawnkilr Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    plz anybody plz help with this info no exampls just use my innfo step by step info plz i would appreciate the help thx for the other stuff but i need it in simpler forms i just got a modded xbox and i am still learning how to do things so plz help
     
    Last edited: Jun 12, 2007
  10. chunkhead

    chunkhead Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2006
    Messages:
    2,753
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Ahh, I see your problem...

    As i tried to explain earlier, DHCP settings are great, but if you are trying to consistently send\receive from the Xbox, it will cause issues. Every time you turn off your Xbox, the IP address will be given back to the pool and you may or may not get it back when you turn it on.

    Ok,this is you...

    XBOX INFO WITH AVALAUNCH DASH

    NETWORK :ENABLED
    DHCP : DISABLED
    STATIC IP: 10.0.10.237
    GATEWAY: 192.168.0.1
    SUBNET : 255.255.255.0
    DNS 1 :195.159.0.100
    DNS 2 :195.159.0.200
    PROXY: ENABLED
    PROXY IP: 10.0.0.1
    PROXY PORT:8080


    This is what you need, assuming you are connecting directly from your PC to the Xbox...


    XBOX INFO WITH AVALAUNCH DASH

    NETWORK :ENABLED
    DHCP : DISABLED
    STATIC IP: 192.168.0.2
    GATEWAY: 192.168.0.1
    SUBNET : 255.255.255.0
    DNS 1 :
    DNS 2 :
    PROXY: DISABLED
    PROXY IP:
    PROXY PORT:

    Follow these steps and tell me what you get...

    Ok, click on Start, Run, then type 'cmd'.
    [​IMG]

    At the prompt, type 'ipconfig'

    [​IMG]

    Write down the three numbers that you get and their names. Close CMD.

    Now turn on your Xbox, navigate to the network settings screen (We'll use Evox for this example)

    [​IMG]

    You need to change the 'Default Gateway' to 192.168.0.1

    On your PC again,

    1. Click 'Start Menu'
    2. Choose 'Control Panel'
    3. Choose 'Network Connections' (double click)
    4. Right Click your Network Card (local area connection) and choose 'Properties'.
    5. In NETWORK PROPERTIES double click 'Internet Protocol (TCP/IP)' or click on option then choose PROPERTIES button. (making sure that the tickbox for Internet Protocol TCP/IP is still ticked 'on')
    6. Check the box 'use the following IP Address' and fill our with these details.
    IP: 192.168.0.1
    SUBNET: 255.255.255.0
    GATEWAY: leave blank

    'use following DNS servers':
    Preferred DNS: leave blank
    Alternative DNS: leave blank

    7. now once you have entered all that info above click the 'OK' button and then 'OK' again. (basically close all windows by pressing ok until all saved)
    8. You may have to reboot your computer before the IP ADDRESS becomes active.

    The reason we have done this is to add the Xbox to the same network as our PC.
     
  11. steimy

    steimy Active member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    12,030
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    96
    Wow, very nice chunkhead
    Pictures and all, LOL
    Hopefully that will get him sorted out and FTP'ing. I thought i spelled it out pretty clear in my step by step but i guess i may have just confused him. Networking an Xbox really sounds a lot harder than it really is. If all else fails there are program you can buy that will set up everything for you, detect new devices on the network and pretty much do it all for you.
     

Share This Page