1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

I have a 120GB hard drive but capacity reads only 111GB

Discussion in 'PC hardware help' started by Mojoson, Nov 3, 2004.

  1. Mojoson

    Mojoson Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2004
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I Have 9GB unaccounted for. Where o where hath it gone and what can I do?
     
  2. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,091
    Likes Received:
    84
    Trophy Points:
    128
    what does your bios read it as, 120 or 111gig, what windows are you using & is it windows showing difference of capacity, do you have the latest update for your motherboard's bios. also manufacturers have about 3 different ways of reading a gigabyte, 1 is 1,000,000,000, 2 is 1,024,000,000 & the 3rd is 1,076,000,000 so when you start multipling any one of those numbers you are going to get a different reading
     
  3. ianski7

    ianski7 Guest

    Hey!

    This is part of the grand scheme of deception from hard drive manufacturers. Most manufacturers define a gigabyte as 1,000,000,000bytes. Realisticly a gigabyte is as stated above 1,073,741,842bytes. if you multiply the manufacturers number by 120 you get (120,000,000,000) the capacity of your drive(by their standards). In reality if you divide 120,000,000,000 by the real gigabyte you get 120,000,000,000 divided by 1,073,741,842 = 111.7587gb
    Your not missing anything except value for the money as we all are!!!!! There was legal action against the computer industry a few years ago but it quitely dissapeared.
    The little guy always gets stiffed!!!!
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 3, 2004
  4. Mojoson

    Mojoson Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2004
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Appologies. Im running Windows XP. Im afraid im not sure how to check my HD capacity using BIOS. I know how to boot into BIOS but im not sure what commands to use therafter. THANKS!
     
  5. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,091
    Likes Received:
    84
    Trophy Points:
    128
    read your motherboard manual, it will tell you what to do, if in doubt, ask
     
    Last edited: Nov 3, 2004

Share This Page