1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

I Have a HDD question i would really like some help plz

Discussion in 'PS2 - Hardware boot discussion' started by Mxg, Feb 18, 2005.

  1. Mxg

    Mxg Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    heres the thing i just read a WHOLE 7 pages on the Hd Loader thing
    and i have a PS2 HDD and Hd Loader backup from the net ok now
    I use this with my Swap Magic discs and it runs fine it goes to the screen where u can install and run games...etc but i can only insatll Original games a
    and when i try to install the backups it says not a valid PS2 disc BUT !!! iuse my fliptop lid to put in the back up games but it still says Invalis PS2 disc now my question is how can i get this to work my ps2 isnt modded and i have the offical PS2 hdd
    also when i try to boot the Original game which is Grandia 2 it goes to the black screen and stays their and i have checked the compatablity list and it says it works fine
    i am only doing this because my PS2 is on its last legs and i really would like to install these games on the HDD
    and finally is their away to insatll the games on the HDD with out using HD loader
    like if i put the ps2 HDD on my PC can i do that and if so do i extract the .iso file or do i leave it as a .iso file and put it on the HDD
    plz someone help
    thanks in advance
     
  2. madhops23

    madhops23 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2004
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Use winhiip. You can either use .isos from you computer from games you have put on your computer already, or you can transfer directly from the disk. When doing this, make sure you set your harddrive to "slave" when in your computer and "master" when you put it back in the PS2.
     
  3. Mxg

    Mxg Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    is their a tutorial on this anywhere i know how to change from master to slave but can you be a liittle more clearer
    as my name suggests i am a newibe
    one more thing do i swith the setting in the bios to swith the HDDs ?
     
  4. Socom987

    Socom987 Guest

    ok first of all i think load back up games to your HDD is wrong but I'll tell you how it done anyways cuz I'm a nice guy
    1.boot your HD loader
    2.choose install
    3.put in any original PS2 games (pick one with a large size)
    4.wait till the disk stop spining then use a flip top or a slide card to swap it with the back up then press ok ........
    hope this help
     
  5. Mxg

    Mxg Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    well my ps2 lens is dead so i want to kno how to do it on the PC so i can use on the ps2
     
  6. madhops23

    madhops23 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2004
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Slave/master: in the back of the harddrive there are plugs that you plug into the PS2 and network adapter. In the middle of these two are some spine type things. There should be a plug on a couple of those. The harddrive should have directions printed on it to show you the settings. When it is in your PS2 it needs to be set on "master" and when it is in your computer it needs to be "slave"

    As for your lense. You need the lense to boot the loader. If your lense goes completely bad, the harddrive is useless. I guess it will go easier on it if you use the hardrive most of the time.
     
  7. Mxg

    Mxg Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    i got the program called winhiip can anyone guide me to a tutorial on how to do this or make one because i have been searching goole for about hours now with no luck i really appreciate anyhelp
    i havent played a game in days !
     
  8. madhops23

    madhops23 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2004
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    1. Format the drive on your playstation with hd loader/advance.

    2. Set the jumper on your PS2 as slave and insert it into your computer.

    3, Run winhiip

    4. When you select drive you should see it. There will be a (PS2) next to it.

    You can load files, backup games or games from here. There are not many options so it shouldbe pretty clear. If you have any questions, write back.
     
  9. Mxg

    Mxg Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    ok i havent tried it yet i will tommorw but when you say format it with HD Loader what do you mean i am using the PS2 HDD wouldnt that mean it is already formated ? and another thing do i have to delete FFXI from ?
     
  10. mickK

    mickK Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2004
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    if you say your PS2 is on its last legs you will have to repair the cd drive in it or get a new PS2. from what I have read on the net you cannot just install games on the HDD and just use that from now on. Now there is a memory card exploit out there where you can install HD advance or HD loader on a memory card but the catch to that is you still have to boot your PS2 with a PS1 game to trigger the exploit. so you would still need to boot our playstation with a cd in any case to access the HDD
     
  11. Mxg

    Mxg Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    well sice HD Loader is a CD game it boots fine but DVD games are a pain to boot so i am goona try the PC to PS2 HDD thing now and see how it turns out
     
  12. bucs2002

    bucs2002 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2005
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    are there any OTHER methods RATHER than connecting the PS2 HDD to your PC???

    I've heard of execFTP or something like that...so you can FTP into your HDD and transfer them?

    I thought that the network adapter was useless once a hard drive was connected to it..?? Am I wrong on this or what?
     
  13. madhops23

    madhops23 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2004
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    The problem with FTP is that you can only load 2 gigs at a time. There is also a way to load backups and everything else through the PS2 itself. With my version of the exploit, it is unreliable to load stuff directly, so I find it easier to put the harddrive in the computer. Its does not take much time and there is little risk. The only problem is if you are working with a laptop.

    In the future try not to capitalize emphasized words or put multiple question marks. Your question is quite clear without them and it seems like you are calling the people who are trying to help you "stupid."
     
  14. radiomoon

    radiomoon Guest

    if your lense is dead, how is it even gonna work when you put in the hdadvance dvd. It has to read that in order to even get your harddrive to work. in this case, you'll have to get a new lense. in the meantime, your best bet is Winhiip. There is no other easier way besides that. Remember you are making backups so you gotta face all the problems that comes fourth to you.
     
  15. NipFocker

    NipFocker Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2004
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I have a laptop, would their be a way to connect an internal hdd to it so I can use winhip?
     
  16. bucs2002

    bucs2002 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2005
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    easy there, madhops. i never once mentioned or implied that anyone here was 'stupid'. if you didn't care for it, sorry - that's too bad but i was just looking for another possibile way to get my files transferred. thanks for your reply though. let's move on, shall we...
     
  17. madhops23

    madhops23 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2004
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    If you have a laptop, I do not know how to attach the harddrive. It is not manditory to load through the computer either. The only advantage is that you do not have to waste DVDs. You can load games, and if need be, their backups through hdloader/advance inside the PS2.
     
  18. bucs2002

    bucs2002 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2005
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    then i would assume that a person could use an external hard drive enclosure for the drive and attach it to a PC via Firewire/USB 2.0, right? has anyone done this before?
     
  19. williej

    williej Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2005
    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I use both WinHIIP and PS2Handiness and it's so much faster. It's a hassle turning your PC off, though ...

     

Share This Page