1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

i installed a modchip and it wont work most of the time!!!!!!

Discussion in 'PS2 - Hardware boot discussion' started by motohelps, Jan 28, 2005.

  1. motohelps

    motohelps Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I installed a modchip to my PS2, and i did it exactly how they told me to do it. Then, when i turn on my PS2 with a back-up of Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas for example, it will only work sometimes. Most of the time it goes to the first screen (the one where it says browser, and system confirgaration), and it will take about 30 more seconds to read it. Once it reads it it starts making these cliking noises then it says Please insert a Playstation 2 farmat disc. Why wont it read the CD the first time? It only works about 1/20 times. Please .... its pi$$es me off. Someone help
     
  2. Icemonkey

    Icemonkey Active member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2003
    Messages:
    1,611
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    It would also be helpful if you could tell us which version PS2 you have and which modchip (make/model) you tried to install.
     
  3. afex

    afex Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2004
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    the issue *probably* lies within your dvd drive, you need to tweak the laser. be VERY careful while doing this, but if it is done correctly it can be a godsend. before you do this you may want to try out different types of media - the ps2 is very picky and may have a hard time with the brand you chose. if your ps2 will boot your game (yes even 1/20) it means your chip is working. your install is fine. it just can't read the disc correctly. (i'm not going to guarantee this because there could be some odd install issue where signals are reaching the mobo most of the time, but not 100% of the time) google works like 'ps2, tweak, lens', etc. and you'll find tons of pages w/ tutorials on how to tweak it.
     
  4. motohelps

    motohelps Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    my ps2 version: 3, chip is m2
     
  5. rohit91

    rohit91 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    ye im gettin the same problem.
    just today i put in nba street v3 in for the first time and it worked
    then i had to do soemthin so i turned it off
    when i tried playing it again it gives me the please insert a playstation or playstation 2 format disc

    btw i have a ps2 V. somethin from 5-8 i think ???
    and a magic 5 modchip
     
  6. rohit91

    rohit91 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Update

    is it soem sort of copywright protection or seomthing
    i dont think its the media

    San andreas on a Memorex dvd+r works 1/50 times...
    NBA street 3 on a BenQ dvd+r works 1/50 times...
    Mercenaries on a BenQ dvd+r works all the time
    Nba live 2005 on a Vakoss dvd+r works allll the time

    any solution?
     
  7. Stinky_1

    Stinky_1 Guest

    I gurantee its not a copyright protection thing. I have a backup that I made and it works 100% of the time.

    I suggest you made a bad backup at too high a speed, or your media is no good.
     
  8. rohit91

    rohit91 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    i burned all of them at the lowest speed
     
  9. Stinky_1

    Stinky_1 Guest

    try dvd-r. I think the PS2 has an esier time reading those.

    At least I have a V5/6 and thats all I use for it
     
  10. rohit91

    rohit91 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    all my games are + and they work except those 2
     
  11. Stinky_1

    Stinky_1 Guest

    u huh, and so what exactly is your point now?

    You asked for help, and we are giving you suggestions of what you could try. If you dont like outu suggestions then just say.......

    "hey guys I really apreciate your help, but I think I know more than you and am going to just fix the problem myself"

    OR

    You could try the things we suggest. We cant go to your house and see what you are doing wrong. If you say the other games work fine, then GREAT! I am telling you that there is NO copy protection on the game and that backups work fine for everyone else in this world. Not to mention that if it was a copy protection how do you think the game is booting that 1 out of 20 times?? Did it just decide to skip the copy protection that time? Maybe your PS2 grew a brain and said to itself

    "You know what, this guy has tried 19 times already to play this game, maybe Ill let him just play it and skip the copy protection this time"

    I doubt it!!

    The fact is that the game is programmed with a certain code, and it has to follow that code EVERY SINGLE TIME! So if there is a copy protection that is NOT letting you play that game, then it will be there EVERY time you boot your game.

    Now you have our ideas, try them or not. But dont come back and say "that cant be it" when you havnt even tried it.
     
  12. rohit91

    rohit91 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    FINE


    ill try it
     
  13. Stinky_1

    Stinky_1 Guest

    thank you
     
  14. epepper9

    epepper9 Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2004
    Messages:
    262
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
  15. rohit91

    rohit91 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    still doesnt work with different media types
     
  16. Stinky_1

    Stinky_1 Guest

    then I guess there is nothing left to do. Throw the PS2 in the garbage and buy a new one. Then take it to a pro and have him put the mod chip in.

    If it still doesnt play backups then, then at least youll know the PS2 or the install wasnt the problem.
     
  17. rohit91

    rohit91 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    dam ps2
    eh i had it for 2 yrs n e ways
    now ill just have to wait for ps3
     
  18. Stinky_1

    Stinky_1 Guest

    that actually could be part of the problem. If the media is fine. The older PS2's when used a lot have a hard time reading DVD-r or DVD+r media. Do you find the loading times are slow when it does actually work?

    You could try putting the PS2 on its side, or adjusting the laser as well.
     
  19. rohit91

    rohit91 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    yea sometimes there huuggeeee speed problems when i was playing san andreas
    it went sooo slow the background loaded so late
    and in other games you can keep hearing these weird sounds coming from the ps2
     
  20. Stinky_1

    Stinky_1 Guest

    so get yourself a new laser. That should fix everything.
     

Share This Page