1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

i need help building a pc

Discussion in 'PC hardware help' started by krkm120, Jan 25, 2007.

  1. krkm120

    krkm120 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2007
    Messages:
    317
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Hello PEOPLE i've never completely built a pc and right now i was looking at this case on newegg http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16811133021 i was wondering what motherboards it can use it says atx but arent those only more cases? i'm looking for a dual core processor and good video card, ram ect and is the case able to handle quad-core? i have around $1100 to spend can you help me get the most for my money


    thank you
     
  2. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,071
    Likes Received:
    79
    Trophy Points:
    128
    there is atx & micro atx. an atx case can take all atx & micro atx sized motherboards but a micro-atx case can only take micro-atx boards that are smaller than atx boards.
     
  3. krkm120

    krkm120 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2007
    Messages:
    317
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    thanks do you have any advice on componants?
     
  4. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,071
    Likes Received:
    79
    Trophy Points:
    128
  5. krkm120

    krkm120 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2007
    Messages:
    317
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    can you guys help me in picking parts for my budget?
     
  6. UrDady

    UrDady Guest

  7. krkm120

    krkm120 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2007
    Messages:
    317
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    thank you for the links can i ask you some more questions? when it says its dual-core or dual channel like say if its 2.6ghz dual-core does that mean it adds up 5.2ghz? for dual channel ram if it says 1gb dual channle does that mean 2 over all? also what kind of power supply will i need to power this and any ideas on how much ram to start with?

    and also are dual cores one chip or 2?

    thanks in advance and for all the help so far
     
  8. steimy

    steimy Active member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    12,030
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    96
    whatever a dual core processor says, that is how much it has on each core, so yes you would double that number to get a total.
    Power supply depends on what your hooking to it, and also how good the brand you buy is. Some may say they are 400 watts, it may not actually output that much. I suggest Enermax. They have plenty of power and are rated good by owners. Also a nice amount of power cords for all your HDD's and drives.
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16817194004
    that is the one i bought.
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dual-channel
    that will help with your RAM question.
    I would get 1GB to start and 2GB (2x1024) if you can afford it.
    Crucial, OCZ and Corsair

    Dual core is one chip with two cores. But still just one chip.

    i went with this case.
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16811233006

    graphics:
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16814150182
     
  9. krkm120

    krkm120 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2007
    Messages:
    317
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    thank you i have one more question if a use

    this case http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16811133021

    this motherboard http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16813131142

    this cpu http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16819115003

    this video card

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16814150205

    also 2 lightscribe dvd burners and a 200gb hdd and a 500gb hdd
    and 1gb of ddr or ddr2 ram what power supply would handle it plus more for upgardeing in the feuture?

    thanks in advance
     
    Last edited: Jan 27, 2007
  10. UrDady

    UrDady Guest

    if u ever in the future want to go sli with two 8800 nvidia recomends that u need at least 1000wat(1kilowat,kwat) sli aproved
    if not a 700 will do fine
    peace
     
  11. krkm120

    krkm120 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2007
    Messages:
    317
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    thankyou
     
  12. krkm120

    krkm120 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2007
    Messages:
    317
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26

Share This Page