1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

I need serious help for Swap Magic 3.3

Discussion in 'PS2 - DVD backup discussion' started by doohuh, Feb 9, 2005.

  1. doohuh

    doohuh Guest

    I have tried everything!!!

    I've used Nero with DVD-R and then DVD+R

    Then I used Alcohol 120% with both DVD-R and then DVD+R

    Absolutely nothing works!

    Swap Magic 3.3 just says "NOT A VALID PS2 DISC" every single time!!

    If this has any relation, the two games I have tried are: Metal Gear Solid 3 and Ratchet and Clank Up Your Arsenal.

    PLEASE, I REALLY HELP!
     
  2. rewtbeer

    rewtbeer Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2005
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Can you run us down how your process about going about doing this is?

    Like...everything from the media you burn on - how you burn - when you put it in your ps2.
     
  3. doohuh

    doohuh Guest

    Okay, as I said I've tried both DVD-R and DVD+R. The +R's are Philips and the -R's are Maxell if that's what you want. Both have 4.7 GB (2 hrs video). Also, they can run at 4x.

    When I use Nero, I select the DVD tab, and click on 'copy disc'. From there, I can select 'quick copy' which means to write from one disc drive to the other without saving anything to my hardrive. This is what I used for Ratchet and Clank. The other option is not using quick copy, where the data from the game is saved onto my hardrive. When I do this, I can't figure out how to write to the blank DVD. I end up using another program to write it....but it still does not work.

    Because neither of these worked, I decided to try the DVD Decryptor. I tried Metal Gear Solid 3 for this. I chose 'ISO mode READ' in order to write the game to my hardrive. When it was done, it made the file name 'dvdimage.mds'. I don't know if this is right. Then I chose 'ISO mode WRITE' and it supposedly wrote the game file to my blank disc.

    Then I run Swap Magic 3.3. When the main menu comes up, the disc stops spinning in the PS2 and that is when I replace the Swap Magic software with my backup disc. Then I click 'load program'. It takes about 15 to 20 seconds - then I realize it's not working because of what I read, it should only take about 2 seconds - and it says....'NOT A VALID PS2 DISC'.

    If this is important, my PS2 is a Volume 9.

    I hope you can figure out what's wrong, because I would hate any more discs than I already have and my money.

    Thankyou.
     
  4. doohuh

    doohuh Guest

    Before you start to post back, helping me, I FIGURED IT OUT. I feel like a real idiot, but the problem was that I wasn't puting the disc in the PS2 correctly.

    Thankyou very much for trying to help me. I really appreciate it.
     
  5. rewtbeer

    rewtbeer Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2005
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    lol

    Thats AWESOME.
     
  6. okboz

    okboz Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2004
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I think you just need serious help. lol
     
  7. mlkalfas

    mlkalfas Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2005
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I am having the same problem as doohuh, I get the message "not a valid ps2 disc" I use "dvd decrypter" and dvd+r disc memorex brand and I burn it at its slowest speed(1x). Please help!
     
  8. phuc

    phuc Guest

    just put it in right way
     
  9. hursty

    hursty Active member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2004
    Messages:
    4,618
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    66

    your software is fine

    your speed is fine

    your dvd media is NOT,try different media

    also what version is your ps2????
     
  10. magella

    magella Guest

    I have a similar situation with Swap Magic 3.3.

    I am using the slim ps2, and buring using Roxio Toast.

    I have an ISO file which i have already used 2 different types of Media. Ritek and Sony.

    I get "not a valid PS2 Disc" every single time.

    Very Frustrated.
     
  11. Nappster

    Nappster Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2005
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Magella, what game are you having trouble with? I have a Slim with SM 3.3 and I burn on Sony DVD+Rs all the time with no problem.
     
  12. magella

    magella Guest

    Fifa street, nba street vol. 3
     
  13. Nappster

    Nappster Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2005
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I haven't tried FIFA 2005 yet, but NBA Streets Vol 3 needs a patch. I found the patch on PS2Ownz.com. Hope that helps.
     
  14. Nappster

    Nappster Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2005
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Oops, you meant FIFA Street, that game will require a patch as well, but I don't think it is available yet.
     
  15. Franko23

    Franko23 Guest

    when you burn a game and include a patch, how do you burn the patch with it?
     
  16. buddog03

    buddog03 Guest

    Alright, Ive been tryin swap magic all day from 4-915 and havent got it to work i always get the Not a Valid PS2 game thing to come up
    What my steps are:
    I use Maxell DVD+R and Verbitan DVD-R
    I use Game X Copy to burn my game
    I put the game in it asks if its a rental or borrowed game and its not so i select no, then it starts reading the image for about 12 min then it asks for my cd and burns the image in about 20 min.
    I then put in swap magic 3.3 with a VERSION 9 ps2
    I then when it loads use the slide card, slide it to the right and the tray pops up and i pull it out and put my cd in.
    I then push it back in and use the slide card to pull the hook like thing to the left.
    It takes about 15-20 sec and says Not a valid ps2 game.
    Ive seen how they did it at the swap magic website and it goes in about 1 or 2 sec.
    Whats wrong
    I hate waisting time and money please help ASAP
    Thanks
    Blaine
     
  17. striker85

    striker85 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I have the same problem. I downloaded a ps1 game, and extracted it. I got a img file, a sub file, and a ccd file. I burned them all to a memorex cd-r in nero, and it doesn't work. I don't understand.
     
  18. buddog03

    buddog03 Guest

    i got everything to work, ps1 games dont work wit swap magic
     
  19. striker85

    striker85 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    im pretty sure it does. I have the dvd and cd version of swap magic.
     
  20. buddog03

    buddog03 Guest

    go to swapmagic.com read the faqs it says it will not boot ps1 games
     

Share This Page