1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

I/O error message on DVD decrypter

Discussion in 'CD-R(W) Media' started by himura, Aug 12, 2004.

  1. himura

    himura Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2004
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    when i try and burn a dvd iso image onto a disc from my comp. i get a message that says: I/O error,,reason: semaphore period timed out... what do i do
     
  2. flip218

    flip218 Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2004
    Messages:
    8,344
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    And why did you feel the need to post this in CD-R(W) Media?


    _X_X_X_X_X_[small]Dell 8250, Pentium 4 2.80GHz
    1.5 GB RDRAM, 450GB HD
    TDK 840G, Sony DDU-1612 DVD-ROM
    XP Pro, ATI All-In-Wonder 9000 Pro[/small]
     
    Last edited: Aug 12, 2004
  3. Nephilim

    Nephilim Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2003
    Messages:
    14,942
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Hi,

    This should be in the "DVD for Newbies" forum :)

    A semaphore timeout means there's a problem with communication to your drive.

    Is the drive internal or external?

    Is DMA enabled for the drive?

    Do you have any packet writing apps such as InCD, DLA or Drag to Disc installed?
     
  4. flip218

    flip218 Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2004
    Messages:
    8,344
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
  5. brobear

    brobear Guest

    @himura
    Flip is right, you shouldn't double post. You should give all the data in one post in the right section, for you being DVD recording for Newbies. Also, you should do a search before starting a thread. If I were a betting man, I would say you have an external drive. I just did a post recently on the subject of semaphore time out and DVD Decrypter. The program will not work with some models of external drives. If I am wrong on the bet, it still sounds like an interface problem. Check the ASPI or other interface being used.

    If an external drive, you could even be experiencing problems with port speeds. If external, are you using a USB 1 or 2 port or something else?

    That's why you should have stayed in one thread. If you'd stayed in one thread, you could have answered some of the questions I asked.
    _X_X_X_X_X_[small][bold]'brobear'[/bold]

    [​IMG]

    I was an earth-rim walker, a lurker at the threshold of the abyss. - Grendel -

    [bold]Et tu, Brute![/bold][/small]
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 12, 2004

Share This Page