1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

I/O Error (Power on, reset, or BUS Device reset ocurred)]

Discussion in 'Copy DVD to DVDR' started by bwinarch, Jan 4, 2005.

1. bwinarch

bwinarch Member

I've been burning on my Sony DRU-510A for about 2 years now and up until recently had very few problems. Over the first year and a half I think I only pounded out 2-3 costers, of which 2 were definitely my fault. Through this time period I was burning on an early version of DVDXCopy Xpress. I then experimented with Elby's Clone DVD with mixed results (I was happier with the burn process itself, but had a significantly higher failure rate). I uninstalled Clone DVD and moved to a combination of DVD Decrypter / DVD Shrink. At this point, I determined the burning problems I had been experiencing to be due to a bad batch of Memorex media. I've recently read ScubaPete's lesson on media and found that there may have been some legitimacy to my theory about their crummy media. Recently, however, I've encountered an "I/O Error - Power On, Reset, or Bus Device Reset Occurred" that keeps popping up. I'm using Sony media at this point and have had reasonable success with this brand in the past (though I must say the Verbatim, TDK, and Fujifilm media I've purchased has enjoyed a 100% success rate). After a recent I/O crap-out, I upgraded my firmware from 1.0A to 1.1A, which said it should improve burn reliability, but it hasn't. I've never had Roxio poison on my system (all the experts can't possibly be wrong) and am running Nero as my CD burning software. Any suggestions are appreciated; at this point I'm starting to suspect that my tired and true DRU-510A is on her last leg...

2. ejd405

ejd405 Member